Skip to content
StoreReturners
United States policyBy Jimmy HarlanReviewed by Kimberly Reeves on October 29, 2026Policy checked against Sephora's official pages on October 27, 2026Retailer's stated effective date: April 24, 2025Article updated October 29, 2026

Sephora Return Policy: 30-Day Rule, Used Items & Refunds

The Sephora return policy for the United States accepts eligible new or gently used products within 30 days of purchase for purchases made on or after April 24, 2025, replacing the older 60-day window. Mailed returns must arrive within those 30 days; store returns and Sephora’s prepaid-label returns are free.

Key facts

  • Sephora’s standard return window is 30 days from purchase.
  • New or gently used products qualify, subject to verification and approval.
  • Mailed returns must reach Sephora within the return window.
  • Sephora at Kohl’s purchases go to Kohl’s, not standalone Sephora stores.
  • Final-sale products cannot be returned or exchanged.

Sephora’s channel-specific rules determine the route and refund:

Purchase channel Where to return Standard deadline Refund form
Sephora.com shipped order Sephora store or prepaid mail return Within 30 days of purchase; mail must arrive Payment- and route-dependent; see refund table
Sephora store Sephora store; no mail Within 30 days of purchase Tender-dependent; card rules below
Direct buy online, pick up in store Sephora store; no mail Use purchase date; pickup FAQ differs Payment-specific store refund
Direct Fast/Same-Day Delivery Sephora store or Narvar mail route Within 30 days of purchase; allow arrival time Payment- and route-dependent
Instacart, DoorDash or Uber Eats Standalone Sephora store only Within 30 days of purchase Originating platform refunds original payment
Sephora TikTok Shop Register in TikTok; follow order instructions 30-day stated window; cutoff action unspecified Platform-issued refund
Sephora at Kohl’s or Kohls.com Any Kohl’s store; online mail eligibility needs confirmation Normally 30 days from purchase; seasonal exception below Original payment, with credit exceptions

Check the purchase date before choosing a route, especially for pickup orders.

How Long Do You Have to Return to Sephora?

Sephora allows 30 days from purchase for ordinary eligible returns. Sephora does not publish whether the days are calendar or business days, how purchase day counts, or a weekend rollover rule; return a few days early rather than calculating an assumed final date.

For direct pickup orders, the main returns policy uses purchase-date wording, while the pickup FAQ says within 30 days after pickup. Count from purchase to be safe, and ask Sephora customer service to confirm the deadline for your order if collection happened later.

What changed from the old 60-day policy?

The 30-day rule applies to purchases made on or after April 24, 2025. Sephora’s archived March 11, 2025 policy allowed original-payment refunds within 30 days in most cases, then online credit for mail returns or store credit for in-store returns on days 31–60. That historical credit period does not apply to current purchases.

Does the 30 days mean ship by or arrive by?

Sephora must receive an ordinary Sephora.com mail return within 30 days of purchase. Creating a label or handing over a parcel at the end of the window does not satisfy the published arrival requirement.

Example: Assume an otherwise eligible Sephora.com item is mailed within 30 days but reaches Sephora afterward. The package misses the stated receipt deadline. If time is short, consider an eligible store return, after checking the product’s condition and exclusions.

Can You Return Used Makeup to Sephora?

Sephora accepts new or gently used makeup and other eligible products, subject to purchase verification and approval. Sephora does not publish a minimum percentage remaining or a guaranteed number of uses, so an opened product is not automatically excluded, but no usage threshold guarantees acceptance.

The final-sale policy excludes marked final-sale products, gift cards and intimate-care items such as personal massagers and vibrators. The main returns policy also excludes certain Sephora Favorites Kits. Check the specific product designation rather than assuming every kit or beauty tool follows one rule.

Approval remains discretionary. Sephora says it monitors return activity for abuse and may limit returns or exchanges; it publishes no numerical threshold. Sephora may request government ID, and a rejected mailed item may not be sent back. Before posting an item whose condition is uncertain, ask customer service; proof of purchase is necessary but does not guarantee approval.

Returning to Sephora Without a Receipt

Sephora can process an eligible return without a paper receipt when the transaction can be found in its system. Unverifiable products are ineligible for a refund, exchange or merchandise credit under the returns policy.

For a Sephora.com order taken to a store, bring one of these supported forms of evidence:

  • Original packing slip.
  • Order or shipping confirmation email.
  • Sephora.com order details on your mobile device.
  • Beauty Insider information that helps identify the purchase.

For store purchases, direct pickup, direct Same-Day Delivery and Instacart, DoorDash or Uber Eats orders, the policy asks for a receipt or gift receipt at the store. If you lack it, the system-verification fallback above still applies. Bring the original payment card as directed. An ID check is separate from purchase verification: Sephora does not publish an ID-only credit route or guarantee credit-card-only lookup.

For mail returns, Sephora expressly says a packing slip is unnecessary when its prepaid label is used. Kohl’s receipt rules differ, so identify the seller before following the steps below.

How to Return Sephora Products

Sephora’s return route depends on where the order was placed. A delivery company’s name alone does not distinguish a direct Sephora order from a marketplace purchase.

In a Sephora store

Sephora stores accept eligible direct online returns; direct store purchases and pickup orders must be returned in store.

  1. Use the official Sephora store locator to find a location.
  2. Bring the product, receipt or gift receipt for store/pickup/delivery purchases, or the listed evidence for shipped orders, plus the original payment card as directed. Ask about system lookup if proof is missing.
  3. Complete the return within the applicable window and confirm the refund destination before approval.

Make sure the location is a standalone Sephora: Kohl’s and Sephora cannot accept each other’s purchases. Payment-specific credit rules can make the refund destination different from the one you expect.

By mail through Sephora’s returns portal

Eligible direct shipped orders can use Sephora’s Narvar start-or-track return portal. Sephora’s published instructions describe these steps:

  1. Select the items and return reasons.
  2. Obtain the prepaid label or an offered printerless FedEx mobile code.
  3. Use the original product and Sephora packaging if available, or a protective padded envelope or box. A packing slip is not required with the prepaid label.
  4. Follow the designated carrier and drop-off instructions, then retain tracking so you can check arrival within the window.

Eligible Sephora.com returns are free in store or with Sephora’s prepaid label. Original shipping is not refunded unless Sephora caused the error. Separate USPS hazmat charges are not published.

Hazardous items must use USPS and cannot use printerless FedEx codes. Aerosols and alcohol-based products are examples of restricted items in Sephora’s shipping guidance; follow the item’s label instructions rather than assuming perfume can use FedEx.

Direct Fast Delivery also permits mail returns under its service FAQ. Use a suitable box or padded envelope no larger than 18 × 12 × 10 inches and obscure old addresses and barcodes. Marketplace orders follow a different process.

Orders from Instacart, DoorDash, Uber Eats or TikTok Shop

Sephora orders placed through Instacart, DoorDash or Uber Eats go to a standalone Sephora store; Sephora TikTok Shop returns begin in TikTok. The third-party delivery FAQ distinguishes these channels; the main returns policy supplies the refund and fee details:

Order placed through Required action Refund handling
Instacart, DoorDash or Uber Eats Bring eligible merchandise and receipt or gift receipt to Sephora within 30 days; ask about system lookup if missing; no mail or Kohl’s return Originating platform refunds original payment; Sephora does not refund platform fees or shopper tips
Sephora TikTok Shop Register the return in TikTok and follow its instructions; no Sephora store, Sephora.com or Kohl’s return Platform issues refund; label cost and precise initiation-versus-dispatch cutoff are not specified in Sephora’s sources

Confirm the platform’s order instructions before sending anything, then check how the original tender affects the refund.

Sephora Refunds: Where and When

Sephora separates the return deadline from mailed-return processing, and the financial institution may take additional time. The returns policy supports three separate clocks:

Stage Published timing What to check
Return eligibility Within 30 days of purchase; ordinary mail returns must arrive Tracking or completed store return
Sephora mail processing and credit issuance Up to 30 days; exact starting event not published Processing confirmation email
Additional bank/provider posting Not published Financial institution’s transaction record

The same policy also says items will not be refunded more than 30 days after purchase, while allowing up to 30 days for mail processing. Those passages word the cutoff differently. Meet the arrival deadline, avoid assuming refund issuance by purchase day 30, and ask Sephora customer service to confirm your order’s status.

For ordinary shipped Sephora.com purchases, the refund table says:

Original payment Returned by mail Returned to a Sephora store
Credit/debit card, including Apple Pay or Google Pay Original card Original card in table; procedure wording differs below
PayPal PayPal account Store-only Sephora credit
Venmo Original Venmo account Original Venmo account
Klarna Klarna account; payment plan adjusted Klarna account; payment plan adjusted
Afterpay Afterpay account; payment plan adjusted Chosen credit/debit card; Afterpay payments continue
Sephora gift card or online credit Website-only online credit Store-only Sephora credit

The policy’s online-to-store card table specifies the original card, while its procedure paragraph permits a card of choice. Bring the original card and have the store confirm the destination; the explicit Afterpay exception does not establish a universal chosen-card rule.

Example: Assume an approved, eligible $50 Sephora.com PayPal purchase with no tax, shipping, discounts or split payment. Mail refunds the $50 to PayPal; a store return gives $50 in store-only credit. Choosing a location also chooses a refund route.

For direct pickup and Fast/Same-Day purchases returned in store, gift-card payments refund to a Sephora gift card; PayPal and online credit become store-only merchandise credit. Venmo returns to Venmo, Klarna to Klarna with plan adjustment, and Afterpay refunds to a chosen card while payments continue.

Physical-store card purchases refund to the original card. Physical-store Klarna/Afterpay wallet purchases instead require the original virtual card selected in the wallet and adjust the plan. Cash and split-tender allocation are not specified.

Sephora store credit never expires, works only in Sephora stores, and cannot be reloaded, transferred or sold. Lost or stolen credit is not replaced; cash redemption is limited to where law requires. Kohl’s issues a different credit.

Sephora at Kohl’s Returns Follow Kohl’s Rules

Sephora at Kohl’s and Kohls.com Sephora purchases can go to any Kohl’s store, including one without a Sephora department. They cannot go to standalone Sephora stores or Sephora’s warehouse, according to the Sephora at Kohl’s rules.

Kohl’s Sephora-specific wording uses 30 days from purchase. Its general policy instead starts shipped orders at shipment and pickup orders when ready for pickup. Use purchase date as the safer reading and ask Kohl’s to confirm your order’s deadline.

Bring the receipt. Kohl’s standard section permits a valid receipt or account lookup for Sephora, but its Sephora-specific section and Sephora’s policy reject non-receipted returns. Ask Kohl’s whether a recovered electronic receipt meets the requirement before relying on lookup alone.

Kohl’s store returns are free. Its general online mail route charges customer-paid postage, supplies no prepaid label and excludes original shipping costs and surcharges. Sephora-specific online mail eligibility and the mail cutoff action are not published clearly; confirm eligibility in your order instructions before posting.

Kohl’s normally refunds original payment, but Sephora gift-card and PayPal purchases receive Kohl’s merchandise credit, usable in Kohl’s stores and on Kohls.com. General guidance estimates about seven days for store card refunds, possibly longer depending on the bank, and 7–10 days after receipt for eligible mail processing; these are not separate Sephora guarantees.

2026 holiday exception: Kohl’s expressly allows Sephora at Kohl’s purchases made October 30–December 30, 2026, to be returned through January 31, 2027. Ordinary condition, proof and final-sale restrictions remain. The notice does not expressly settle Kohls.com eligibility or seasonal mail mechanics; confirm online orders with Kohl’s. Direct Sephora’s 2026 holiday extension is not specified in the checked sources.

Kohl’s general exchanges are in store only, subject to stock, with the same brand, style and ticketed price and only size or color differing. Reward-funded purchases need another check before requesting a refund.

Beauty Insider Points, Rewards and Returns

Sephora does not publish a longer ordinary window for Insider, VIB or Rouge members. The Beauty Insider FAQ says returns remove earned points, including bonus points, and associated spend; the points balance can become negative.

The reward terms distinguish three cases:

  • Beauty Insider Cash: refunds cover the amount actually paid after the discount. Redeemed points and the discount are not restored; a qualifying same-item/range exchange retains the transaction value including the discount.
  • $100 Rouge Reward: funded merchandise cannot be returned to Sephora stores or Kohl’s. Unused, unopened items may be exchanged at Sephora for the exact same item, including a range exchange, within 30 days. Online purchases can be mailed back for the prorated amount paid; the redeemed reward is forfeited.
  • Rewards themselves: generally cannot be returned or exchanged for points, money, products or gift cards unless a specific offer allows an exception.

Mohegan Sun purchases paid with Player’s Club Points are exchange-only within 30 days. Faulty or damaged orders follow a separate support route.

Damaged or Faulty Sephora Orders

For direct-US return, refund or damaged-order inquiries, Sephora customer service offers phone support at 1-877-737-4672 and live chat Monday–Friday, 5 a.m.–9 p.m. PT; Saturday–Sunday, 6 a.m.–9 p.m. PT. Have purchase details and a description of the problem ready. Its Fast Delivery FAQ specifically directs faulty-item inquiries to these channels.

Sephora does not publish a separate nationwide defect-reporting deadline, guaranteed replacement, allergy exception or guaranteed remedy after 30 days in the checked sources. Its policy excludes replacement/refund for missing or damaged items it reasonably believes were delivered to a parcel forwarder.

The FTC’s Cooling-Off Rule does not provide a general three-day cancellation right for ordinary store or entirely online purchases. The FTC’s problem-resolution guidance recommends keeping documents, describing the problem and requesting a remedy; manufacturer assistance may be needed after a seller’s deadline. Neither establishes one US-wide defective-product return period. Keep purchase records and the retailer’s response (see how StoreReturners checks policies).

Sephora Return Policy Checklist Before You Send Anything Back

Use this Sephora return policy checklist to confirm eligibility and refund routing before handing over the product:

  1. Purchase date: allow time for arrival within 30 days; clarify pickup discrepancies.
  2. Purchase channel: choose Sephora, Kohl’s or the platform’s route using the order record.
  3. Payment method: check whether the result is original-payment refund, credit or a card refund with installments continuing; check reward redemptions too.
  4. Hazmat status: use the designated carrier; restricted products cannot use FedEx printerless codes.
  5. Gift status: use Sephora’s in-store gift route if the refund should not go to the purchaser.

For other retailers, see our US return policy guides.

FAQ

Can I exchange instead of returning?

Sephora’s returns policy acknowledges in-store exchanges, including eligible gifts, subject to verification and approval. The published policy does not specify a general exchange-by-mail process, price-difference rules, exchange fees or a stock guarantee. Take the item and purchase evidence to a Sephora store and confirm the available exchange before completing it.

How do I return a gift without the giver getting the refund?

Sephora says to take the gift to a store for exchange assistance or merchandise credit, rather than mailing it. Bring the packing slip, order/shipping confirmation or Gift Receipt email. Eligibility still applies. The gift instructions address who receives the refund; they do not guarantee the giver receives no notification.

Does Sephora publish a restocking fee?

Sephora does not publish a separate restocking fee in its checked returns policy. That is a limit of the published information, not a promise that every channel or nonstandard return is free. Use the approved return route and confirm any unlisted charge with customer service before sending the item.

Will sales tax be included in my refund?

Sephora’s returns policy says applicable taxes required by law are included with refunds. It does not publish a separate tax-refund calculation for each jurisdiction or split-payment scenario. Check the approved refund against your purchase record and ask customer service about any discrepancy; the Sephora return policy still requires an eligible return.

Official sources