Argos Return Policy: 30 Days, Return Routes, Fees and Christmas 2026
The Argos return policy gives 30 days from delivery or collection to start returning unused Argos-sold items in original packaging; Trusted Seller items go through the seller. Eligible small items return free to any Argos store; large-item collection costs £30 unless faulty or supplier-delivered. Items bought 23 September–25 December 2026 can be returned until 31 January 2027.
Key facts
- Argos’s terms add a further 30 days after requesting a return, but its return-method help says return within 30 days. Start and complete the return within 30 days.
- Eligible Argos store returns are free. Collections cost £3.95 for small items or £30 for large ones unless faulty or supplier-delivered. Tu postage costs £3.50 unless faulty.
- A confirmation email, bank statement, Argos card statement or order number can replace a lost receipt.
- Store refunds start immediately; banks can take up to 5 working days. Other returns: allow 14 days for Argos, then payment processing. PayPal can take up to 30 days; Klarna up to 14.
- Trusted Seller items cannot go back to Argos stores: use order details or Contact Seller.
For other retailers, browse more UK store return guides.
Argos return routes at a glance
| How you got the item | Where it can go back | Cost | How to start | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Argos store collection | Any Argos store | Free for eligible items | Take it in; starting online saves time | Bring purchase proof; no home collection |
| Sainsbury’s collection point | Same point or any Argos store | Free for eligible Argos items | Take it back with proof | Not any collection point |
| Small home delivery | Any Argos store, or collection/exchange | Store free; collection £3.95 unless faulty or supplier-delivered | Store or live chat | Fee basis unpublished |
| Large home delivery/furniture | Collection only | £30 unless faulty or supplier-delivered | Live chat | Check made-to-order eligibility |
| Tu clothing | Any Argos store, any Sainsbury’s collection point, or post | In person free; post £3.50 unless faulty | Complete returns label and reason | Label needed for every method |
| Trusted Seller | Seller’s postal/courier route | Not published | Order details / Contact Seller | No Argos store returns |
| Faulty Argos item | Contact Argos for deliveries; any store for collected orders | Collection-fee exceptions apply | Contact Argos or visit store | Fault rules differ from change of mind |
Routes follow Argos’s return-method help, main policy and seller policy; free store returns apply only to eligible Argos-sold items.
How Long Do You Have to Return Something to Argos?
Argos gives 30 days from delivery or collection to request a return. Its main policy and online terms describe that request window; the terms then allow a further 30 days to return, while return-method help says return within 30 days.
The safe action is to start the return and get the item back within 30 days. Check your order-date terms and return instructions; do not plan around a second period. Argos does not specify calendar versus working days, first-day counting, bank holidays, or whether dispatch, carrier scan or arrival satisfies the second period. Act a few days early. Argos Plus does not change merchandise return rights.
Are Sale and Clearance Items Treated Differently?
Argos publishes no separate sale/clearance window or final-sale list: standard criteria apply. Sale goods retain the same legal rights as full-price goods, according to GOV.UK.
Can You Return Opened or Used Items to Argos?
Argos permits reasonable inspection, but using an item for its benefit or mistreating it may prevent a voluntary refund. Argos’s examples include checking a camera works, unboxing a toy and trying on a jacket.
Unwanted goods must be unused, resaleable, with all original components, packaging and applicable tags. Include purchase proof and promotional free items. Excess handling can cause a loss-of-value deduction; relevant hygiene and security seals on excluded products must stay intact.
Remove SIM cards, memory cards and personal extras, and retain dispatch evidence. Faulty items follow the fault rules below, without an unused, packaging or tag requirement. For an electronics comparison, see Currys’ returns policy before choosing where to buy.
How to Return an Argos Order: Choose Your Route
To start an order return, have your order number, email and postcode ready; starting online can save time for store returns too.
- Check the seller and delivery or collection method against the table.
- Gather the item, required packaging, components, purchase proof and free gifts.
- Use the matching route below; contact Argos via live chat for collections or find an Argos store for eligible in-person returns.
Items collected from an Argos store
Argos store-collected goods can go to any Argos store, free when eligible. Start online or take them in; home collection is unavailable.
Items collected from a Sainsbury’s collection point
Argos goods collected at a Sainsbury’s point return to that same point or any Argos store, free when eligible. Tu has an any-point route; separate supermarket purchases follow Sainsbury’s own return policy.
Small home-delivered items
Small Argos home deliveries can return free to any Argos store when eligible. Alternatively, use live chat for collection or exchange. Collection charges and exceptions are in the fees table below.
Large items and furniture
Large deliveries require collection through live chat; stores cannot accept them. For made-to-order furniture, method help describes collection, while the main policy excludes bespoke goods. Eligibility is unsettled: check before ordering or returning.
Tu clothing
Tu clothing can return to any Argos store, any Sainsbury’s collection point, or by post. Complete the returns label and mark the reason whichever method you choose, following Argos’s Tu instructions.
Is There a Free Returns Label for Argos Orders?
Argos publishes no general prepaid label, carrier, drop-off network or return address for non-Tu orders. Follow the matching route or order instructions.
Does Argos Charge for Returns?
The main policy sets these charges and exceptions:
| Route | Charge | Exceptions |
|---|---|---|
| Eligible Argos store return | Free | Large deliveries and Trusted Sellers excluded |
| Tu store/collection point | Free | Follow Tu label instructions |
| Tu post | £3.50 deducted from refund | No charge if faulty |
| Small home collection | £3.95 | No charge if faulty or supplier-delivered |
| Large home collection | £30 | No charge if faulty or supplier-delivered |
| Trusted Seller | Not published | Ask seller for order-specific costs |
Return-method help lists only the faulty exception for large collections; the main policy lists both. Confirm supplier delivery when booking. Argos does not publish whether collection fees are per item, order or visit, how they are paid, or a general restocking fee. Ask before booking multiple items.
For a full-order return, Argos and Trusted Seller policies refund the standard original delivery charge. Argos’s return-method help says small home-delivery charges come back only when you return the entire order, and the marketplace terms exclude any enhanced or next-day delivery extra from Trusted Seller refunds. Argos doesn’t publish whether it refunds premium-delivery extras on its own orders, or other geographic limits.
Example: assume one non-faulty £25 Tu item returned by post, with no other deductions or delivery refund. The item refund is £25 − £3.50 = £21.50.
Returning Trusted Seller Items Bought on Argos
Trusted Sellers are third-party marketplace sellers with separate contracts, including within mixed baskets. Seller help says these goods are delivery-only, without Click & Collect.
Use order details, request a return or Contact Seller, then follow the seller’s postal/courier instructions: Argos stores cannot accept them. Queries after 30 days also go to the seller. The terms describe 30 days from delivery to request, then a further 30 to return; the safe action in the return-window section applies.
Seller return costs and who pays are unpublished. The seller policy provides a refund to the original method within 14 days of receipt or earlier dispatch evidence. Keep that evidence.
Faults go through Contact Seller: under 30 days, refund; after 30 days and within 12 months, repair/replacement, then refund if unresolved, too slow or significantly inconvenient. Faulty goods need not be unused or retain packaging/tags. Christmas dates below also apply. You can’t pay with Nectar points on seller orders, though you can still earn them, and Argos Plus delivery benefits and Argos Care don’t apply.
How Can You Tell Whether a Trusted Seller Sold Your Item?
Check the seller on the product page, trolley, checkout and order communications. “Delivered by supplier” alone does not establish Trusted Seller status.
Can You Return to Argos Without a Receipt?
Often yes, with purchase evidence and normal eligibility. Lost-receipt help names:
- Confirmation email.
- Bank statement.
- Argos card statement.
- Order number.
Proof-of-purchase help says Argos can investigate using the email address used to buy; ask for e-receipts at the till for future purchases. Argos publishes no unconditional no-proof refund, ID-only route, guaranteed card lookup or automatic voucher fallback. GOV.UK also recognises proof other than a receipt.
Returning an Argos gift with a gift receipt
Gift receipts are available on request in store. Eligible recipients can, within the 30-day period stated on Argos’s gift-receipt page, exchange for equal value or receive an Argos gift voucher if no alternative is found, rather than a refund to the buyer’s card. Argos does not explain their interaction with the Christmas extension.
Argos Christmas Returns 2026
Eligible purchases from 23 September 2026 to 25 December 2026 can return until 31 January 2027, under the direct policy and Trusted Seller policy. Ordinary condition requirements and exclusions remain.
Argos does not specify whether that deadline means request, dispatch or arrival, or whether a January request brings another 30 days. Start and get the item back by mid-January; do not assume an extra period. Mattress-promise interactions are also unpublished.
Example: assume an eligible, unused Argos-sold item bought on 1 October 2026. The Christmas deadline is 31 January 2027; refund processing is separate.
How Long Do Argos Refunds Take?
Argos starts in-store refunds immediately; its main policy says allow 14 days after other returns, plus bank/provider processing. Refunds generally use the original payment method, with gift and Nectar exceptions below.
| Route | Clock 1: return window | Clock 2: Argos/seller processing | Clock 3: bank/provider posting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Store | 30 days from delivery/collection; see window section | Starts immediately | Bank: up to 5 working days |
| Collected return | Same 30-day window | Main policy: after receipt/inspection, allow 14 days; FAQ: as soon as collected | Bank: up to 5 working days |
| Tu post | Same 30-day window | Allow up to two weeks for arrival before processing; confirmation follows | Bank: up to 5 working days |
| Trusted Seller | 30 days from delivery; see window section | Within 14 days of receipt or earlier dispatch evidence | According to payment method |
The refund FAQ says collection triggers arrangement of the refund, while the main policy requires receipt and inspection. Plan for the latter, then bank processing; contact Argos if overdue. These stages do not promise a combined total. Legal cancellation has its own deadline below.
Klarna, PayPal and PayPal Pay in 3 refunds
After refund issue, Argos quotes PayPal up to 30 days; Klarna up to 14. Klarna refunds go to the checkout card. PayPal Pay in 3 refunds reduce the remaining plan balance first; any amount left goes to the PayPal balance.
Gift cards and Nectar points
Gift-card purchases refund to the original card or, if unavailable, a new gift card/eGift card. For Nectar in-store returns, use a staffed till: the Nectar portion becomes an Argos gift card, with the remainder refunded by its original method. Earned points may be removed.
For online returns, Nectar help says points return to Nectar, but terms Schedule 2 says Argos gift card without a channel exception. Ask live chat before returning if the destination matters.
Can You Exchange an Item at Argos?
Yes, for specified routes: live chat can arrange small home-delivery exchanges, and gift receipts permit equal-value exchanges. Universal eligibility, stock holds, fees and different-price rules outside mattresses are unpublished: confirm first.
Mattresses and the 100-night comfort promise
The comfort promise offers one same-size exchange per purchase within the first 100 days. A protector is required; the mattress must be clean and undamaged, for domestic use. Adjustable-bed mattresses are excluded.
Price differences are settled. MPP, PayPal or Klarna purchases can exchange directly only for the same catalogue number; another mattress requires refund and repurchase. The title says nights, the body days; start, counting and deadline-action rules are unpublished. Ask Argos.
Wrong-size/unwanted mattresses follow the standard route, unused in original packaging.
What Can’t You Return to Argos?
Argos excludes specified goods from voluntary change-of-mind returns. The main and seller policies list:
- Personalised/bespoke goods; inseparably mixed goods; rapidly perishable goods.
- Sealed games, CDs, DVDs or software once opened, downloaded or redeemed.
- Opened Pokémon packets and mystery collectables. Buyers comparing retailers can consult Smyths Toys’ return policy.
- Non-subscription newspapers, journals and magazines.
- Used/unsealed hygiene-sensitive goods: personal care, breast pumps, make-up/beauty, toilet seats/brushes, underwear/nightwear/swimwear, earphones and piercing jewellery.
The direct policy additionally names thermometers and opened/unsealed paint, aftershave and perfume; don’t assume a seller will accept these, because the seller policy’s general hygiene restriction still applies. Made-to-order furniture eligibility needs confirmation.
For non-tangible digital content, the main policies require agreement to early supply, acceptance of losing cancellation rights, and delivery having started. The cancellations FAQ instead says downloads cannot be cancelled once ordered. Changed your mind about a download? Contact Argos promptly, before starting it. Per GOV.UK, the legal cancellation right ends early only once supply begins with your express consent and acknowledgement, which Argos must confirm in your contract confirmation; check it. Statutory cancellation exclusions are a separate, narrower list under regulation 28; faults follow different rules.
Faulty Argos Items and Your Consumer Rights
Argos’s policy offers refunds for faults within 30 days without unused condition, packaging or tags. Cosmetic delivery damage may instead lead to an agreed partial refund. From 30 days to 12 months, Argos offers free repair/replacement, then refund if unresolved, too slow or significantly inconvenient.
Contact Argos for home deliveries; collected orders can go to any store. Product Support supplies troubleshooting and manuals. Trusted Seller faults go through Contact Seller.
Separately, the Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22, gives qualifying faulty goods a 30-day rejection period starting the day after ownership (or possession, for certain hire and credit contracts) passes, the goods are delivered and, where installation or another enabling step is required, you are told it is complete; perishables may have less time. Under section 20, clearly notify rejection and make goods available for collection or agreed return. The seller bears reasonable return costs except your cost of returning in person to where you took possession. Refund is due within 14 days of agreeing entitlement, by the same method unless expressly agreed otherwise.
Sale goods retain legal rights. Under GOV.UK guidance, a fault appearing within six months of delivery is presumed present at delivery unless the retailer shows otherwise. After six months you may need to prove an original fault; Argos’s 12-month undertaking is not a legal limit. Unwanted goods bought in person have no automatic legal refund right, so change-of-mind returns depend on Argos’s voluntary policy. Statutory repair/replacement must take reasonable time without significant inconvenience, at the seller’s necessary expense.
What If the Fault Appears After the Guarantee Ends?
Argos offers review of an independent repair-shop report: include shop logo, order number, fault description, visit date, engineer name and paid invoice. Send through live chat or its customer-enquiries route. Review does not promise acceptance or reimbursement of report costs. Warranty expiry does not end statutory rights.
Your 14-day legal right to cancel online orders
Eligible online/phone orders for goods, including Click & Collect, have a separate 14-calendar-day cancellation period, starting the day after receipt, or the last item for multi-item orders. For digital content, the 14 days run from the day after the contract is made. If collection is not offered, send or hand goods back without undue delay, within 14 days after notifying.
Regulation 34 requires refund without undue delay: within 14 days of receipt or earlier dispatch evidence if collection was not offered; if offered, within 14 days of cancellation notification. The same payment means applies unless expressly agreed otherwise. Full eligible cancellation refunds the cheapest standard delivery, excluding premium extras; excess handling can reduce the refund.
Example: assume one eligible online item received on 28 October 2026, correct cancellation information given, and no collection offered. Notice runs from 29 October to 11 November 2026; notifying on 11 November means sending by 25 November 2026. This is the legal clock, separate from Argos’s 30 days.
If Argos or a seller refuses your return
Keep order, return and refusal evidence. Complain through Contact us, stating the policy clause or statutory right relied on. For Trusted Seller orders, if Contact Seller fails to resolve matters, marketplace terms §14.2 direct you to the dispute contact form via Trusted Seller FAQs; Argos says it will resolve disputes within 21 working days. For card or credit payments, Section 75 or chargeback may be available in some cases: consult Financial Ombudsman Service guidance and your bank or lender.
Argos Return Policy Mistakes That Cost You Money
- Relying on another 30 days: help and terms differ. Start and complete the return within the first 30 days.
- Paying collection fees unnecessarily: mention faults or supplier delivery before booking £3.95/£30 collections.
- Taking large or seller items to a store: arrange collection or contact the seller instead.
- Using beyond inspection or leaving a SIM inside: deductions or refusal may follow; inspect only and remove personal extras.
- Losing dispatch proof: keep it, particularly for seller refund timing.
- Expecting delivery back on a partial return: for small home deliveries, Argos refunds delivery only when the whole order comes back; check other partial returns first.
Read how we check retailer policies for the verification approach behind this guide.
FAQ
Does Argos Plus give you free returns?
Argos Plus does not create a separate free-return entitlement: the usual Argos return policy applies. Eligible store returns are free, while home collections carry the published charges unless an exception applies. Plus delivery benefits do not extend to Trusted Seller orders; check those sellers’ return instructions and costs separately.
Can I return a phone I’ve used but don’t like?
Argos allows reasonable inspection, but using a phone for its benefit may prevent a voluntary refund; excessive handling can reduce its value and your refund. Remove SIM cards, memory cards and personal extras before returning. A faulty phone follows the fault route, with different condition requirements.
Do I have to send back free gifts that came with my order?
Yes. Argos requires promotional free items to accompany an unwanted product return, alongside the original components, packaging, applicable tags and proof of purchase. Gather those items before visiting a store or handing over a collection, and check the main product still meets the change-of-mind eligibility requirements.
Does Argos refund the original delivery charge?
Standard delivery is refunded on whole-order returns; Argos’s small-home-delivery help excludes partial returns. Trusted Seller terms exclude enhanced/next-day extras; Argos’s own-order premium policy is unpublished. For full eligible legal cancellation, the cheapest standard delivery is reimbursed, but premium extras need not be. Check your order’s route before returning.
What happens to Nectar points I earned on a returned item?
Argos may remove Nectar points earned on returned or cancelled purchases. Earned rewards are separate from points used to pay: in-store Nectar payments refund as an Argos gift card, while official online-refund guidance differs from the terms. Ask Argos to confirm the destination before returning an online Nectar-funded order.
Official sources
- Returns, Product Support & Repairs | Argos Help — checked 28 October 2026.
- Argos Help Centre | Terms and Conditions — checked 28 October 2026.
- Trusted Seller Returns Policy | Argos Help — checked 28 October 2026.
- Trusted Sellers | Argos Help — checked 28 October 2026.
- What counts as proof of purchase? — checked 28 October 2026.
- I’ve lost my receipt. Can you send me another one? — checked 28 October 2026.
- Can I get a Gift Receipt with my purchase? — checked 28 October 2026.
- How long will my refund take? — checked 28 October 2026.
- Returns, Cancellations & Issues with my Order — checked 28 October 2026.
- How do I return something that was partly or fully paid for using Nectar points? — checked 28 October 2026.
- How do I return a home delivered item, or product I collected in store? — checked 28 October 2026.
- How do I exchange my mattress under the 100-night comfort promise? — checked 28 October 2026.
- Contact us | Argos Help — checked 28 October 2026.
- Argos Store Locator — checked 28 October 2026.
- Track your order / return entry point — checked 28 October 2026.
- Argos Support | Find support, manuals, user guides and videos for Argos products — checked 28 October 2026.
- Accepting returns and giving refunds: the law — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22: Time limit for short-term right to reject — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 20: Right to reject — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 23: Right to repair or replacement — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013, regulation 30: Normal cancellation period — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013, regulation 34: Reimbursement by trader — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013, regulation 35 (as made): Return of goods — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013, regulation 28: Circumstances excluding cancellation — checked 28 October 2026.
- I have asked for a refund on my Klarna order. How will I be refunded? — checked 28 October 2026.
- Can I apply for a refund if I’ve used PayPal Pay in 3? — checked 28 October 2026.
- Online and distance selling: Online selling — checked 28 October 2026.
- Problems with goods and services: section 75 and chargeback – Financial Ombudsman service — checked 28 October 2026.