Skip to content
StoreReturners
United Kingdom policyBy Jimmy HarlanReviewed by Kimberly Reeves on 29 October 2026Policy checked against Marks & Spencer's official pages on 27 October 2026Article updated 29 October 2026

M&S Returns Policy: 28 Days, Christmas Dates and Refunds

The M&S returns policy gives UK shoppers 28 days to return eligible unworn, unused clothing and homeware, counted from purchase in store; website terms allow online orders 35 days from delivery. Marks & Spencer’s Christmas notice extends full-price purchases from 22 October 2026 until 17 January 2027, or a later standard deadline.

Key facts

  • M&S’s standard window is 28 days (its website terms allow online orders up to 35 days from delivery).
  • Christmas full-price purchases from 22 October 2026 qualify until 17 January 2027, or a later standard deadline.
  • Documented proof includes a receipt, e-receipt, online order number or gift receipt, depending on the route.
  • Food, flowers and plants are excluded from general change-of-mind returns.
  • Card refunds have separate processing and payment stages: 1 day at main stores or 10 days on other listed routes, then 3–5 working days.
Purchase type Return window Where to return Published refund timing
Full-price main-store clothing/homeware 28 days from purchase Main clothing/home stores Within 1 day processing, then 3–5 working days
Full-price online clothing/homeware Help: 28 days; website terms: 35 from receipt Eligible stores or order’s postal route; exceptions below Main store: 1 day; Foodhall/Outlet/post: 10 days; then 3–5 working days
Sale Safest action: within 14 days of purchase; wording differs Check purchase terms and order options Depends on return route
Christmas 2026 full-price purchases From 22 October 2026: until 17 January 2027, or later standard deadline Normal eligible routes Depends on return route
Outlet purchases Check applicable full-price/sale conditions Outlet stores only Within 10 days processing, then 3–5 working days
Furniture Check supplier first: listed brands 14 days from delivery; current general help 28 days Arrange account or supplier collection; see below Account-route furniture: 10 days from warehouse receipt, then 3–5 working days
Unwanted food, flowers or plants Excluded from general goodwill policy Contact the seller about quality problems No general goodwill refund timetable

The M&S returns help supplies the route and processing figures; its purchase terms word several deadlines differently.

How Long Do You Have to Return to M&S?

M&S gives 28 days from purchase for eligible full-price clothing and homeware bought in store. M&S says returns outside its voluntary dates are not accepted; faulty-goods rights remain separate.

For online orders, M&S’s returns help gives 28 days; its website terms allow 35 days from when you receive the order. Use 28 days as your deadline to be safe. The help does not clearly identify the online 28-day start event; check your order’s remaining return days or ask customer services.

M&S does not define whether goodwill days are calendar or working days, whether purchase day counts, or whether starting a postal return meets the deadline. Return a few days early rather than relying on a final-day portal request.

Sale item returns

M&S’s sale wording differs across its help and terms: 14 days from purchase, 14 days from receipt, or notification within 14 days followed by another 14 days to return. In-store sale terms defer to conditions shown at purchase.

The safest voluntary-policy action is to return sale items within 14 days of purchase, checking the receipt or order and asking M&S if unclear. Statutory online cancellation rights have separate clocks below.

School uniform bought in summer 2026

M&S’s school-uniform notice gives 100 days from purchase for uniform bought 25 June–15 August 2026. Footwear, underwear, tights, accessories and pre-embroidered uniform are excluded. From 16 August, the standard 28-day rule applies, subject to any separately applicable Christmas extension.

Example: Assume eligible uniform bought on 15 August 2026 remains unused and resaleable: 100 days from purchase is 23 November 2026, so it stays returnable until then. Return early because M&S does not specify its day-counting convention. The summer offer has ended for new purchases.

M&S Christmas Returns 2026

M&S’s Christmas returns policy covers full-price purchases made on or after 22 October 2026 until 17 January 2027, or later if the normal 28-day deadline falls afterwards. Sale items and normal exclusions are not extended.

Example: Assume an eligible full-price jumper was bought in a main M&S UK store on 1 December 2026 and stays unworn and resaleable. Its ordinary 28-day period ends around 29 December, so 17 January 2027 is the later date. The December calculation is approximate because M&S does not publish its goodwill day-counting convention.

M&S does not state the eligible purchase-range end date or whether the January deadline means starting, sending or completing a return. Return in store by the deadline, or start the postal process well beforehand and confirm the required handover date.

What Condition Do Returns Need to Be In?

M&S requires change-of-mind goods to be unworn, unused and in original resaleable condition. Complete multipacks must go back together, along with any free item supplied with the purchase; individual 3-for-2 items can be returned at their allocated promotional price. See M&S’s condition rules.

M&S’s help allows secure alternative outer packaging for post and no packaging for Clothing & Home store returns, while its general terms require original packaging. Keep original packaging where possible; otherwise confirm your item’s requirements before sending it. Furniture and postal-only categories have stricter rules.

Hygiene-sealed and intimate items

M&S’s category exceptions allow beauty products, toiletries, bra accessories, duvets, mattress protectors, pillows, earrings and non-M&S toys and gifts under goodwill only if unopened with security or hygiene seals intact. Electronic items have the same proviso, alongside the kitchen-electrical exclusion. Swimwear needs intact hygiene seals.

Underwear and lingerie can qualify with undamaged product packaging; unpackaged items need intact tags and the applicable hanger. Removing outer shipping packaging is therefore different from breaking a product’s hygiene seal.

Returning to M&S Without a Receipt

M&S requires purchase proof for its voluntary returns, but a missing paper receipt does not rule out every documented route. The terms specify a valid store receipt or online parcel summary; returns help also describes these alternatives:

  • An online order number from Orders & Returns for an eligible Clothing & Home store return.
  • A gift receipt; a replacement can be requested at a till with the original purchase proof. For online gifts, the purchaser can open their account in a browser, not the app, choose the order → Gift Receipt(s) → items → Print or Email, within the return window. If lost, the purchaser can forward their emailed copy; the account cannot resend it.
  • An e-receipt, where available. Email receipts can be enabled under Account → Orders → Receipts; retrospective recovery is not promised.

The help also mentions a product tag with a barcode as proof beside its statutory-rights wording. That does not establish a guaranteed no-receipt goodwill refund. M&S publishes no general UK outcome with no receipt, order or gift proof, nor a guaranteed Sparks/payment-card lookup.

For statutory claims, GOV.UK accepts other purchase evidence, such as a bank statement; that does not create a change-of-mind entitlement.

How to Return M&S Items

M&S routes depend on where you bought the item and its category. Check those before travelling or creating a parcel.

In store

  1. Choose an eligible shop using the M&S store finder. Main-store clothing/homeware purchases must return to main clothing/home stores, not food-only shops or post. Outlet purchases must return to Outlet stores.
  2. Bring the item and proof, including the order number for eligible online purchases. Check postal-only exclusions below before travelling.
  3. Keep the return acknowledgement and check the refund destination, especially for gifts.

For ordinary eligible online refunds, M&S includes Foodhall and Outlet routes, with slower processing. Franchise/travel locations such as BP/Moto, airports, hospitals and train stations are excluded. Exchanges, gift credit and faulty goods have narrower store lists. M&S’s Chester Customer Services offices accept no purchase returns.

By post or courier

M&S’s postal instructions describe this process:

  1. Open Orders & returns, choose Return item(s), then select items, reasons and an available method.
  2. For guest or gift orders, use the guest returns form with the order number and purchaser’s surname.
  3. Generate the carrier QR code and package the goods securely.
  4. Take the parcel to the selected carrier’s drop-off point; staff print the label. Affix it and retain the tracking receipt.
Carrier route Maximum weight Size limit Location restriction
Evri Parcelshop 15 kg 120 cm length Not currently available in Northern Ireland
Royal Mail/Post Office 20 kg 61 × 46 × 46 cm Check methods offered for your order

In most cases, post is unavailable for return products totalling under £10 or all-sale baskets collected in store. Check the order’s options; M&S directs sale returns to eligible stores free of charge. A missing QR code can be found near the bottom of Track and View return; another drop-off point for the same carrier can be used.

M&S’s help says its QR-code postal returns are free; its website terms say customers pay postage. Use the generated route and confirm any cost with M&S rather than buying postage independently.

The UK website terms say these cannot be posted: beauty, pillows, duvets, Christmas trees, mirrors, furniture, electrical items, lighting, food, wine, flowers, gift cards, hampers, made-to-measure shirts and personalised cards. If generated order options differ, ask M&S before sending. Eligibility does not establish a postal route.

Start-Rite purchases use Royal Mail or Evri, unworn in original protective packaging; Simply Food and Clothing & Home store returns are unavailable.

Double-check the item before posting. M&S’s accidental-return FAQ says other retailers’ items are usually held about 30 days, with no refund, exchange or replacement and no guaranteed recovery. Contact M&S promptly with identifying and tracking details; unidentified or unclaimed items may be recycled or donated.

Furniture and large items

Check the supplier first: brand-specific help gives 14 days from delivery for listed suppliers including Gallery, Swoon, Cotswold Company, Barker and Stonehouse, Royal Craft and Silent Night. Call M&S Furniture on 0333 014 8111 for collection; their items do not use ordinary portal/store returns. Some mattress and Corndell FAQs count from ordering; contact M&S promptly without treating that as the statutory start.

Mamas & Papas furniture/travel sets bought on M&S.com also have 14 days from delivery: call 0333 014 8111 to arrange collection. Keep goods unused in original protective packaging; do not use the M&S returns portal or take them to stores. Other online products follow standard rules; concession purchases follow Mamas & Papas’s own route.

For other furniture bought on or after 2 June 2026, current furniture help gives 28 days, subject to sale rules and exclusions; confirm eligibility in your order. The older furniture terms, scoped to purchases before 2 June 2026, give 35 days to notify from the day after delivery for orders placed on or after 10 October 2024, and direct earlier orders to the furniture team.

For account-route furniture, book collection through Orders & Returns; Parcelforce brings the label. Keep tracking proof. Furniture cannot return to stores and must arrive back resaleable in its delivered state, such as unassembled. The pre-2 June 2026 terms require the same packaging and condition as delivered; current supplier packaging requirements depend on the brand.

For a non-T84 cancellation using home collection, returns help offers free collection, while UK cancellation terms state £50, excluding next-day T84 furniture. Confirm the charge against your order summary before booking; neither wording establishes a universal supplier collection fee.

M&S Refunds: How Long They Take and Where They Go

M&S’s refund table separates retailer processing from the further 3–5 working days for payment to arrive. Neither period extends your return deadline.

Route Clock 1: return eligibility Clock 2: M&S processing Clock 3: payment posting
Main Fashion, Home & Beauty store Applicable purchase deadline above Within 1 day Further 3–5 working days
Eligible Foodhall/Outlet return Applicable purchase deadline above Within 10 days Further 3–5 working days
Evri/Royal Mail Applicable purchase deadline above Within 10 days Further 3–5 working days
Account-route furniture collection Confirm furniture/supplier deadline Within 10 days of warehouse receipt Further 3–5 working days

M&S does not define every processing start event or the unit of its processing “days”. On 27 October 2026, help also warns of postal/home-collection processing delays without quantifying them. These figures cannot be added into a guaranteed total from posting.

The cancellation terms instead describe 14 days from warehouse receipt and 3–5 business days for store processing. Check your return status or contact M&S if timing is unclear; statutory cancellation limits below apply independently.

Normal refunds return to the original payment method, including gift cards. Specific till-paid orders may be refunded by posted cheque. Clearpay refunds go to the linked card and stop relevant remaining instalments; its help gives 3–5 working days but varies the trigger, so check your Clearpay account.

Incomplete or unsaleable goodwill returns may be refused or reduced, with an assessed balance issued as an e-gift card. Credit receipts last 12 months, are spendable only in store and are not replaced or extended if lost, damaged or expired.

M&S’s help refunds £3.99 standard delivery when the entire order returns by post/home collection within 14 days of receipt, including where nominated-day delivery was paid. Terms also mention store returns. Do not assume every store return forfeits delivery reimbursement: confirm the order and statutory cancellation position.

Sparks wallet refunds

Sparks terms restore the rewards-funded portion to the digital wallet within 24 hours, without specifying that clock’s start. Other portions return to their original methods; partial returns restore proportional rewards. Sparks membership does not establish a published longer return window.

What M&S Won’t Take Back

M&S’s goodwill exclusions include food, food gifts, Food to Order, fruit baskets, hampers, wine, flowers and plants. Ocado purchases go through Ocado, including M&S-branded food.

Other exclusions include face coverings, gift cards, personalised/made-to-measure goods, single-use bags and kitchen electrical goods. Non-M&S toys and gifts qualify only unopened with seals intact. For non-M&S luggage, website terms allow that same exception, but help lists luggage without it. Confirm your item’s eligibility with M&S before returning it.

Fine jewellery, wedding/bridesmaid dresses, adult fancy dress and maternity clothing are postal-only, with original outer packaging requested. These route restrictions matter even when another online item can go to a store. Faulty products require a separate assessment.

M&S’s faulty clothing/homeware route allows claims beyond 28 days without original packaging, tags or unworn condition. Bring a receipt/e-receipt if possible to a main UK store, or contact customer services if unable. Simply Food, Outlet, BP/Moto, hospital, airport and train-station locations are excluded from this route.

For faulty furniture, call 0333 014 8111; furniture help requests photos. The damage-reporting instruction in the pre-2 June 2026 terms applies to those older purchases and preserves statutory rights. For direct M&S food-quality complaints, ask customer services: the sources do not publish a dedicated deadline or complete food-return procedure.

UK law separates three situations:

  • Unwanted store purchases: no automatic change-of-mind refund right, according to GOV.UK. M&S’s voluntary policy supplies the extra benefit.
  • Eligible online cancellations: normally notify within 14 days after the day of receipt, then send/hand back within a further 14 days. The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 and GOV.UK distinguish notice from return; cancellation exceptions include personalised, rapidly perishable and relevant unsealed hygiene goods.
  • Faulty goods: the Consumer Rights Act 2015 normally provides a 30-day short-term rejection period, starting the day after delivery, ownership and any required installation steps are complete. Rapidly perishable goods can have shorter periods. After that, repair or replacement may apply; failed or unavailable remedies can lead to price reduction or final rejection.

To exercise the short-term right, clearly tell M&S within the applicable period that you reject the faulty goods and treat the contract as ended, then make them available for collection or return as agreed. Section 20 separates that notice from return arrangements.

For repair/replacement and the associated later remedies, a fault appearing within six months of delivery is normally presumed present at delivery unless M&S establishes otherwise or the presumption is incompatible with the goods or fault. After six months, M&S can ask you to prove the original fault. This is an evidence rule, not a six-month refund window: see section 19 and GOV.UK.

For eligible cancellations without offered collection, regulation 34 requires reimbursement without undue delay, within 14 days of returned goods or earlier dispatch evidence. With collection offered, the normal limit is 14 days from cancellation notice. Standard delivery is included for full eligible cancellations; excess handling can reduce value.

For entitled faulty-goods rejection, section 20 places reasonable return costs on the trader and requires refund within 14 days of agreeing entitlement. Sale goods retain defect rights. These remedies depend on the problem and circumstances; expiry of goodwill does not create an indefinite full-refund entitlement. StoreReturners is an independent publisher; read how StoreReturners checks policy sources for the limits of this source-based guide.

The voluntary M&S returns policy does not replace those legal rights. For another retailer’s rules, consult the Next UK return policy guide.

M&S Returns Policy: Quick Checklist

Before using the M&S returns policy, check these five points:

  1. Date: purchase channel, sale status and Christmas eligibility.
  2. Condition: unworn/unused goods, complete multipacks and intact required seals.
  3. Proof: receipt, order details or gift receipt for your route.
  4. Destination: correct store type, generated postal option or booked furniture collection.
  5. Refund: original payment destination, processing stage and delivery-fee conditions.

The UK returns guides hub covers other retailers.

FAQ

Can I return an M&S gift without the buyer being refunded?

M&S allows a gift recipient with a gift receipt to use a staffed till for an exchange or gift-card balance. Post and self-service kiosks refund the purchaser’s original payment method. Gift returns help excludes Outlet, Simply Food, BP/Moto, hospital, airport and train-station locations from the recipient route.

Can I exchange an online order by post?

M&S does not exchange online purchases by post. Eligible clothing and homeware can be exchanged at appropriate UK stores; exchange terms exclude Outlet, Simply Food, railway and Foodhall stores. Check the item is eligible before travelling; a postal refund is a different process from an exchange.

Do returns affect my Sparks rewards?

M&S can reverse earned or pending Sparks rewards when returned goods remove the qualifying spend. If the offer has not expired, the offer is reinstated; after expiry, the earned reward is removed. Sparks returns terms distinguish that reversal from restoring rewards originally used to pay for returned goods.

Can I return M&S food I bought from Ocado?

M&S says it cannot refund food orders bought through Ocado; contact Ocado about the order. M&S’s Ocado help links a quick refund route for deliveries received in the last seven days. That quick-route period is not stated as the full legal limit for a claim about faulty food.

Can I exchange an order paid with Clearpay?

M&S does not offer direct exchanges for Clearpay orders. Clearpay returns help directs shoppers to return for a refund and place a new online order. Refunds go through the linked card and relevant remaining instalments stop; check the Clearpay account for the payment status before assuming the balance has changed.

Official sources

The M&S returns policy summary above draws on these official sources.