Next Return Policy: 28 Days, Costs and Christmas Dates
The Next return policy in the UK allows eligible unused online purchases back within 28 days, starting the day after delivery. Store returns are free; Evri or Royal Mail costs £2.50 per return. Eligible purchases from 23 October–25 December 2026 qualify for post-Christmas returns through 5 January 2027.
Key facts
- Next gives eligible online full-price and sale purchases the same 28-day window.
- Eligible store returns are free; ordinary remote returns cost £2.50.
- Sale items and Christmas decorations bought in store, and outlet/clearance-store purchases, have seven-day windows.
- nextpay and Pay in 3 refunds go to the credit account, even when the order was paid by card.
- Christmas 2026 extensions exclude outlet/clearance stores and Christmas decorations.
Ways to return to Next
| Method | Cost for eligible ordinary parcels | How to start | Next’s refund issue timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Store till or parcel drop box | Free | Find an accepting Next store | Same day; PayPal within one working day; credit accounts immediately |
| Evri home collection | £2.50 per collection/return* | Arrange a Return in My Account | Within one working day after arrival at Next |
| Evri ParcelShop, participating Post Office or Locker | £2.50 per return* | Attach an Evri returns label | Within one working day after arrival at Next |
| Royal Mail | £2.50 per return* | Use Next’s linked Royal Mail route | Within one working day after arrival at Next |
*nextunlimited terms say £2.50 per parcel, so several parcels may cost more. See return methods and refund timings. Purchase channel determines whether the 28-day or seven-day window applies.
How Long Is the Next Return Window?
Next allows 28 days for eligible online purchases, including sale goods, starting the day after home delivery. Goods must be unused and in perfect condition; retain tags and packaging. Next’s online policy sets out these conditions.
For click-and-collect, the help page and Late Returns terms count from the day after collection, while the general returns terms count from the day after delivery to the store. Safest action: count from the parcel’s arrival in store, then ask Next to confirm your order’s deadline.
Next does not specify whether carrier handover by day 28 is sufficient or whether the parcel must reach its warehouse. Drop off early; do not treat a last-day postage receipt as guaranteed eligibility. “Days” is undefined; do not assume weekend extensions.
Next store purchases: 28-day and seven-day windows
Next’s store policy gives mainline purchases 28 days, but outlet/clearance purchases, in-store sale goods and Christmas decorations seven days. Purchase-day counting is unspecified; return early. An online sale order does not become a seven-day purchase because you return it to a shop. Eligible online orders can go back to a store free; remote returns carry a charge.
Does Next Charge for Returns?
Next charges nothing for eligible store returns and £2.50 for ordinary courier or drop-off returns. The return instructions describe the charge per collection/return, regardless of item count; nextunlimited terms say per parcel. Check with Next before combining several parcels and assuming one fee.
Next adds the fee to credit accounts on receipt; otherwise, Next deducts it from the refund. nextunlimited does not waive it.
| Charge | Published trigger |
|---|---|
| £2.50 | Ordinary remote return; per-collection versus per-parcel wording differs |
| £4.95 original delivery refund | Next says this is refunded when the whole ordinary order is returned |
| £30 furniture collection | Early non-faulty return, with notification within 14 days |
| £60 furniture inspection/collection | Later non-faulty return, subject to inspection and conflicting day-15 wording |
| £30 refused furniture delivery | Can apply unless goods are faulty or not as described |
| At least £35 investigation charge | Specified improper activity, such as substitute goods or dishonest returns |
The whole-order delivery rule does not establish delivery reimbursement for partial returns, premium upgrades or two-person furniture. The investigation charge concerns improper returns.
Example: Assume an eligible whole order costs £40 plus £4.95 standard delivery, paid without a credit account, and uses one £2.50 remote return with no other deductions. The stated refund calculation is £40 + £4.95 − £2.50 = £42.45. Check product restrictions before booking a collection or choosing a drop-off point.
How to Return a Next Order
Keep original packaging: help instructions call for original clear bags, whereas the terms say original packaging “where possible” and do not require specific dispatch bags for ParcelShop returns. If packaging is missing, ask Next before sending.
At a Next store
- Use the Next store finder to locate a branch. Airport and Fabled stores do not accept returns.
- Take eligible goods to the till or parcel drop box. Help says no return note is needed; the terms ask for the delivery note. Bring it or your order details if available, and ask the branch if missing.
- Keep the return receipt as evidence of handover.
The store restrictions exclude two-person items, appliances, Beaverbrooks, personalise me, Hammonds and Gift Experiences. In-store purchases paid with a Next credit account must go back to a store, rather than by courier. Check these exclusions before travelling.
Evri home collection
- Sign in to Arrange a Return through My Account, or call 0800 587 7758. Next lists Monday–Saturday collections bookable up to seven days ahead.
- Pack the goods and attach the returns label. Collection uses the billing address; call 0333 777 8000 for a different address.
- Keep the collection or tracking receipt.
Check the address against Next’s collection instructions.
Evri ParcelShop, Post Office or Locker
- Pack eligible items and attach one returns label to the outer parcel.
- Drop the parcel at an Evri ParcelShop, participating Post Office or Evri Locker, following Next’s instructions.
- Retain the tracking receipt.
The ParcelShop terms exclude electrical small homeware and name Moncler, Versace, Dolce & Gabbana and Monnalisa among method restrictions.
For a replacement Evri label, use My Account → Replacement Label for an emailed label. Request it before choosing your drop-off date.
Royal Mail
- Open the Royal Mail returns route linked by Next, select Next and enter the requested details, including your Next account number.
- Print the label or use the emailed QR code for label printing at the Post Office.
- Send the parcel and keep the posting receipt.
Follow Next’s Royal Mail instructions; keep proof until refunded, particularly if purchase paperwork is missing.
Can You Return to Next Without a Receipt?
Next does not promise a refund without a receipt for a voluntary store return. The store policy says staff may offer an exchange when the receipt is lost; that outcome is discretionary.
For an otherwise eligible debit/credit-card refund, the original card and cardholder must be present. Without the card, Next refunds to a Next Gift Card. That does not guarantee receipt-free refunds. Next guarantees neither transaction lookups nor statements, ID or emails as voluntary receipt replacements.
Online returns relate to your account; bring available order details. Help does not require a return note, but the terms ask for one at stores.
Returning a gift from Next
Next’s gift-receipt guidance says online orders cannot have gift receipts; store purchases can receive one at purchase. Gift recipients can take eligible gifts to a store for a refund card usable only in store. The Christmas notice also offers recipients an exchange; the buyer’s original-payment refund route is different. Christmas gifts must also meet the seasonal dates and exclusions.
Next Christmas Returns 2026
Next’s Christmas 2026 notice covers eligible items ordered online or bought in store from 23 October to 25 December 2026, allowing returns after Christmas through 5 January 2027 inclusive. Outlet/clearance stores and Christmas decorations are excluded.
Eligible refunds go to the original payment method. Gifts must be unused, tagged and appropriately packaged; bring proof for store purchases.
Returns on or before 24 December 2026, and after 5 January 2027, follow the standard policy. The January date does not shorten an ordinary window that runs longer.
Example: Assume an eligible coat was ordered on 20 November 2026, delivered on 22 November, and remains unused with tags. Its standard 28 days ends around 20 December; the Christmas rule allows a qualifying post-Christmas return through 5 January 2027.
Next does not specify dispatch versus arrival for posted Christmas returns. Drop off by early January and confirm the deadline with Next. Special furniture and partner-brand coverage is not individually defined. The Christmas extension affects eligibility, not refund processing or bank posting.
Next Refunds: How Long Do They Take?
Next issues eligible store-return refunds the same day, except PayPal within one working day; credit accounts are credited immediately. For Evri/Royal Mail, Next’s refund guidance gives one working day after warehouse arrival, typically about three days in transit.
| Clock | Published timing |
|---|---|
| Shopper’s ordinary online return window | 28 days from the day after home delivery |
| Remote transit/scanning, then Next processing | Typically three days to arrive; other terms warn up to seven; then one working day to process |
| Bank/payment-provider posting | Not published as a universal period; ask your provider |
| Payment route | Refund destination and issue timing |
|---|---|
| Ordinary card payment, no Next credit account | Original payment method; same-day issue for store returns |
| PayPal, no Next credit account | PayPal; within one working day for store returns |
| nextpay / Pay in 3 | Credit account immediately for store returns; order status within one working day |
| Online order paid by Gift Card, without the credit-account override | Emailed eVoucher; without an account email, a Gift Card posted to the billing address, typically up to five working days |
Bank posting follows Next’s refund issue and has no universal published period. The up-to-seven-day scanning warning is not seven extra banking days. For nextpay or Pay in 3, an account credit and repayment to a bank card are separate steps.
nextpay and Pay in 3 refunds
Next’s credit-account guidance says refunds go to the account even when you paid by card, PayPal, Gift Card or eVoucher at order time.
If the account has a positive credit balance, call 0333 777 8000 to request repayment to the original payment method. Next processes that request within one working day, then allows up to five working days for the payment provider.
Late returns after 28 days
Next’s late-return guidance describes an emailed eVoucher after 28 days, rather than an original-payment refund. However, the terms’ Exceptions section says a late return may receive one. Acceptance is not guaranteed, and no maximum late period is published; ask Next before sending.
The Late Returns eVoucher lasts six months and cannot pay nextpay debt. Under the voucher terms, online spending requires a Next account; redemption in participating stores or online excludes domestic appliances, Hammonds bedrooms and Made 2 Measure, and cannot buy Gift Cards or other eVouchers. On nextpay, an item-refund entry is followed by a voucher charge at the item price: do not count the first entry as a lasting debt reduction. Faulty goods should not receive this voucher; call 0333 777 8000 to correct that. Online size changes require a return and new order, with ordinary return charges.
Exchanges at Next
Next offers no direct exchange for online purchases: return for a refund and place a new order. Return charges apply; replacement stock/prices are not guaranteed.
Store purchases can be exchanged with a receipt under the relevant 28-day or seven-day rule; staff may offer an exchange without one. Compare the separate M&S returns rules. Product exclusions still apply to exchanges, including opened hygiene goods.
Items Next Won’t Take Back
Next’s exceptions restrict unwanted-item returns by product and condition:
- Made-to-specification, made-to-measure, made-to-order or personalised goods, and unsealed paint including samples, are excluded unless defective or not as ordered.
- Unwrapped/unsealed pierced jewellery, cosmetics, toiletries and mattresses cannot ordinarily be returned unless faulty.
- Perishable food, plants, drinks and fresh flowers are excluded; gift cards, eGiftcards and eVouchers cannot be returned or exchanged for cash.
- The orange-tagged I’m Not Perfect range is non-returnable under the store policy; rights concerning a separate undisclosed fault remain relevant.
The terms also exclude the children’s shoe-fitting tool, Gift Experiences and items with specified security warnings whose sticker has been removed or seal broken. These are ordinary change-of-mind restrictions; legal remedies remain separate.
Beaverbrooks and partner brands
The general terms list Beaverbrooks among exclusions, but their specific Beaverbrooks section allows returns within 30 days of receipt, direct to Beaverbrooks using the supplied prepaid label. Follow that specific route; confirm with Next or Beaverbrooks before sending, rather than using a Next store or courier.
The terms also name WatchShop, Diamond Store and Handbag Clinic in their no-refund/exchange list without detailing alternative procedures there. Ask Next about your order. Large furniture needs specialist collection rather than an ordinary parcel route.
Returning Next Furniture and Mattresses
Next directs furniture/upholstery returns to 0333 777 8999, with chat/WhatsApp routes linked from its specialist help page. Assembled large furniture cannot be returned for change of mind; keep unused goods complete with packaging, parts and fittings.
Notify Next within 14 days, counted from the day after delivery, for the £30 collection band. Later non-faulty returns carry £60, including independent in-home inspection; goods must be fit for resale and undergo another warehouse check before refund.
Help says return within 28 days, whereas nextunlimited terms describe days 15–30 and exclude 30-plus days. Narrative wording includes day 15 in the later band, but tables say “After Day 15”. Contact the specialist team early and within 28 days; confirm the fee for your exact date. No fixed furniture-refund duration is published.
Refusing delivery can also incur £30. Faulty/not-as-described goods are exempt from the stated collection charge.
The general mattress rule excludes unwrapped unwanted mattresses, while a separate 101 Nights Trial describes free returns starting from delivery. Eligibility is unspecified; confirm your mattress qualifies. Eligible trial customers call the specialist number for collection and a return bag, tape it securely and keep it indoors; unsafe items may be refused. Report mattress faults separately from unwanted-item or trial returns.
Faulty Next Items and Your Consumer Rights
Next asks customers with faulty, damaged or incorrect clothing/small homeware to contact its help team, which may request photographs. Large furniture and two-person items go to 0333 777 8999. The small-parcel fee-waiver process is not published; ask for fault-specific instructions before paying for an ordinary return.
Furniture faults reported after 15 or more days may involve photo triage or inspection. Repair is offered where possible; otherwise, Next says the specialist team contacts you within five working days after the visit. This service process does not remove statutory rejection rights.
UK legal rights are separate from Next’s voluntary windows:
- Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013: for eligible distance purchases, notify cancellation within 14 days after receipt, then return within another 14 days. Exemptions include personalised, perishable and certain unsealed hygiene goods. Standard outbound delivery is refundable; premium upgrades need only be refunded up to the standard cost, and return carriage can remain payable. Government guidance explains these rules.
- Consumer Rights Act 2015: faulty or misdescribed goods generally carry a 30-day right to request a full refund, with repair/replacement rights continuing afterwards. The CMA’s shopper guidance distinguishes these remedies from changing your mind.
For repairs or replacements, GOV.UK says that within six months the retailer must show the goods were not faulty when bought to avoid the remedy; afterwards, it can ask you for proof of an original fault. This is not a six-month refund guarantee.
For statutory cancellation, government guidance says refund within 14 days of receiving goods back; CMA guidance confirms the same payment method applies unless agreed otherwise. Shop-style inspection is permitted, but excessive handling can reduce the refund. Sale goods retain legal rights, and statutory proof may include a bank statement or packaging rather than only a receipt.
If support has not resolved a complaint, use Next’s Complaints Process to ask its Specialist Team to step in. Possible Financial Ombudsman Service referral covers Next credit products or services only, after Next has had a chance to resolve the complaint.
These summaries cannot settle individual defects, trial eligibility or disputed deadlines (see how StoreReturners checks policies). In-person change-of-mind refunds depend on Next’s voluntary policy, so confusing that policy with legal remedies can change your refund outcome.
Next Return Policy: Mistakes That Cost You Money
The Next return policy makes purchase channel, return method and refund destination financially significant:
- Paying £2.50 unnecessarily: use an accepting store for eligible goods if the journey is worthwhile.
- Assuming a partial return refunds delivery: Next’s £4.95 promise requires the whole ordinary order back.
- Missing the deadline: an accepted late return can become a six-month voucher rather than money back.
- Expecting nextpay refunds on a card: check the account balance and request any eligible credit withdrawal.
- Using a parcel route for furniture: arrange specialist collection and confirm the inspection charge.
Our UK return-policy guides cover other retailers’ rules. Frequent returns can also affect account access or membership renewal.
FAQ
Can I return Next swimwear or underwear?
Next permits swimwear and underwear returns when unworn, unused and in original condition, or faulty. The exceptions page says Next no longer adds hygiene tags, so do not assume an intact strip is required. Meet the relevant purchase window and keep the items in their original condition.
Can I return credit-account store purchases by courier?
No. Next’s terms say goods bought in a store using a Next credit account must be returned to a store, rather than by courier. This restriction concerns the purchase channel and payment arrangement; an online account order has its own eligible return methods. Keep your receipt.
Does nextunlimited make returns free?
No. nextunlimited terms retain the £2.50 remote-return charge and describe it per parcel. Eligible returns to Next stores remain free. Membership therefore does not remove the method decision: check the product’s accepted routes, and confirm charges before handing over several parcels in a single collection.
Will Next close my account for returning too much?
Next’s terms allow ordering restrictions or closure after notification for persistently high returns; no general numerical threshold is published. Separately, nextunlimited may stop automatic renewal when 21+ orders were delivered using nextunlimited and 70%+ of those orders were returned over a rolling 12 months. Membership renewal differs from account closure.
Can I get money instead of an eVoucher for a late return?
Next’s ordinary late-return route uses an eVoucher, with acceptance not guaranteed; no general cash alternative is promised. Faulty items should not receive a late voucher: call 0333 777 8000 if that happens. Under the Next return policy, check seasonal eligibility and distinguish statutory rights before accepting a voucher outcome.
Official sources
- Next: Next return policy, store policy, return methods and terms — checked 27 October 2026.
- Next: refunds, credit-account refunds and late-return eVouchers — checked 27 October 2026.
- Next: Christmas 2026 notice, gift receipts, exchanges and nextunlimited — checked 27 October 2026.
- Next: exceptions, furniture returns, mattresses and 101 Nights Trial — checked 27 October 2026.
- Next: fault help, faulty furniture and contact hub and Complaints Process — checked 27 October 2026.
- UK guidance: GOV.UK refunds and CMA online-shopping rights — checked 27 October 2026. These sources support the legal summaries.