Skip to content
StoreReturners
United States policyBy Jimmy HarlanReviewed by Kimberly Reeves on October 29, 2026Policy checked against Abercrombie & Fitch's official pages on October 28, 2026Article updated October 29, 2026

Abercrombie Return Policy (US): 30 Days, $7 Mail Fee and VIP Rules

The Abercrombie return policy gives US shoppers 30 days for original-condition returns: store purchases count from purchase, online orders from the later of estimated or actual last-shipment delivery. Returning a store purchase to a store is free; the mailed return label deducts $7 from the refund.

Key facts

  • Store purchases have 30 days from purchase; online orders have 30 days from the later estimated or actual delivery of the last shipment.
  • Store VIP purchases have 60 days, with merchandise credit only after day 30; VIP status must exist when ordering. The US return pages we checked don’t state online VIP terms.
  • Store purchases can’t be mailed back. Store-purchase returns are free; the mailed label deducts $7.
  • A store may retrieve a lost receipt through a linked myAbercrombie purchase; success isn’t guaranteed.
  • Final-sale, custom and personalized items can’t be returned or exchanged unless faulty, damaged or misdescribed. US outlet clearance is final sale, and the store policy makes gift-card sales final and nonrefundable.

Abercrombie returns at a glance

Purchase type Window Where/how Cost What you get back
Retail store purchase 30 days from purchase; qualifying VIP: 60 Retail store $0 Original payment or merchandise credit; VIP after day 30: credit only
Outlet purchase Store-policy window; clearance final sale Outlet only $0 for eligible returns Store-policy refund rules
Online order by mail 30 days from later estimated/actual last-shipment delivery Start My Return; emailed label/QR $7 label deduction Original payment or merchandise credit
Online order to store Same online window Eligible store; shipment email or invoice Not stated on return pages checked Original payment or merchandise credit
In-store ship-to-home order Online rules Follow online instructions Online rules Online rules; cash-paid route not stated on return pages checked
Store gift-receipt, gift-card-funded or previously exchanged purchase Applicable store window Store $0 for eligible returns Gift-card credit

“Not stated” refers to the US return pages we checked; the full online returns page did not display its policy text when checked on October 28, 2026.

Sources: US store policy and US online returns summary.

This guide covers direct Abercrombie & Fitch US store and abercrombie.com US purchases. The US return pages we checked don’t state rules for other sellers; contact the seller. Purchases from Abercrombie’s UK site follow that site’s own policy, not these rules; browse more US store return guides for other retailers.

Abercrombie’s full online returns page did not display its policy text when checked on October 28, 2026. This guide relies on Abercrombie’s US store return policy, the returns summary shown on US product pages and the myAbercrombie FAQ. Read how we check retailer policies.

How Long Do You Have to Return to Abercrombie?

30 days is Abercrombie’s ordinary window. Store purchases must physically reach a store within 30 days of purchase; the online start event differs.

The US return pages we checked don’t state calendar-versus-business-day counting, day-zero treatment, cutoff time or time zone. Return several days early rather than calculating an exact final day; the US return pages we checked don’t promise ordinary returns beyond the window. For a same-category comparison, see the American Eagle return policy.

When does the 30-day clock start for online orders?

Abercrombie’s online summary starts the 30 days from the later of estimated or actual delivery of the last shipment. Neither shipment date nor the first package’s arrival controls that wording.

Example: Assume the last shipment’s estimated delivery is November 8, 2026, and actual delivery is November 6, 2026. November 8 starts the clock; if actual delivery instead happens November 10, 2026, November 10 controls. These examples establish start dates, not final return deadlines.

Does your mail return have to arrive by day 30?

The US return pages we checked don’t state whether initiation, drop-off, carrier scan, warehouse arrival or processing must occur within 30 days. Start and ship well before the window ends, and keep proof of dispatch; opening a return alone isn’t a confirmed deadline safeguard.

Is there an Abercrombie holiday return extension for 2026?

No dated 2026 holiday notice was verified in the checked US sources. The store policy contains older, yearless holiday wording, which doesn’t establish 2026–27 dates.

Check your receipt or order page and recheck the official policy from early November. Keep to the standard 30 days unless a dated notice confirms otherwise.

Do myAbercrombie VIP Members Get 60 Days?

Yes, for qualifying store purchases: the store policy gives 60 days, but only merchandise credit after day 30, and VIP status must exist when the order is placed. Free myAbercrombie membership alone doesn’t qualify: the loyalty FAQ sets VIP qualification at $500 in a 365-day member year.

The US return pages we checked don’t state online VIP windows, refund form after day 30 or status-at-purchase requirements. Treat online orders as 30-day returns unless Abercrombie confirms your order’s terms.

Example: Assume a VIP whose status existed when ordering returns an eligible store purchase in original condition, with proof, on day 45. Under the store policy, the outcome is merchandise credit, not money back to the card.

How returns affect VIP status and points

Abercrombie’s loyalty FAQ says returning qualifying purchases can remove VIP status, and deducted points can leave a negative balance. The US pages we checked don’t promise rewards reinstatement. Check your points and VIP status before returning a qualifying purchase.

How to Return an Abercrombie Order by Mail

Abercrombie’s online returns summary describes starting online, receiving a label or QR code and getting a receipt-confirmation email. Use these four steps for that route; order-specific options depend on Abercrombie’s instructions.

  1. Start online. Open Start My Return and identify the items you want to return. Confirm the order and items before continuing.
  2. Use the emailed label or QR code. Check for Abercrombie’s return email and follow its instructions. Have that label or code available before dispatch; don’t substitute an unrelated shipping label.
  3. Ship as instructed. Use the return instructions Abercrombie sends and retain dispatch evidence. The US return pages we checked don’t state carrier choices, drop-off points, pickup or self-paid mailing details; don’t use an address found elsewhere.
  4. Watch for receipt confirmation. Abercrombie emails when the package arrives. Keep that email and tracking, and use Track My Return through the US help hub, or contact Chat With Us or 866-681-3115. Arrival confirmation doesn’t mean the refund has posted.

How much does the Abercrombie mail return label cost?

$7 is deducted from the refund when you use the mailed label, according to the online summary. The US return pages we checked don’t state fee basis per item, order or package, multi-order consolidation or waivers for e-gift-card refunds, exchanges or faulty items; confirm before combining orders or counting on a waiver.

Example: Assume one eligible $70 item, an original-payment refund, one $7 deduction and no tax, shipping or other adjustments. The illustration is $70 − $7 = $63, not a promised final refund.

Shoppers comparing mall-brand mail return costs can check the Hollister return policy.

Returning to an Abercrombie Store

Abercrombie’s store policy makes eligible store-purchase returns and exchanges free. Use Find a Store, then bring the original-condition item and a receipt, invoice or order confirmation within the applicable window. Abercrombie’s store policy covers its US Abercrombie & Fitch and abercrombie kids stores; outlet purchases follow the outlet rules below. Don’t mail store purchases to a store or distribution center.

Can you take an online Abercrombie order back to a store?

Yes, to an eligible store, with the shipment-confirmation email or invoice, under the online summary. Confirm eligibility with the store before traveling; the US return pages we checked don’t state all store exclusions or whether this route avoids the $7 deduction.

Orders placed in a store for home delivery follow the online policy, rather than the ordinary store-purchase rules.

Outlet purchases and outlet clearance

Abercrombie’s outlet rules require outlet purchases to return to outlets only; retail purchases can’t return to outlets. US outlet clearance is final sale. Check both the store type and your purchase proof before making the trip.

Can You Return to Abercrombie Without a Receipt?

A missing paper receipt doesn’t necessarily end the return, but proof is required. Abercrombie’s store policy accepts a receipt, invoice or order confirmation; a store may retrieve a purchase linked to myAbercrombie, without guaranteeing success. Online-to-store returns use a shipment-confirmation email or invoice.

The loyalty FAQ’s account lookup links purchases for earning points; it doesn’t by itself prove a purchase for a return. The US return pages we checked don’t describe photo-ID-only, payment-card-only or lowest-price-credit routes, so sign in and link purchases, or keep your order email, before you need to return.

When Will You Get Your Abercrombie Refund?

The US return pages we checked don’t give a refund timeframe. The online returns summary promises a package-receipt email, not a date when funds will reach your account.

Stage What Abercrombie says Source
Return window Store: 30 days from purchase; online: 30 days from later estimated/actual last-shipment delivery Store policy; online summary
Abercrombie processing Not stated on return pages checked; mailed-package receipt email confirmed Online summary; full online policy unavailable
Bank/provider posting Not stated on return pages checked Online summary; full policy unavailable

“Not stated” refers to the US return pages we checked; the full online returns page did not display its policy text when checked on October 28, 2026.

Keep tracking and receipt confirmation until the money posts; ask Abercrombie about processing and your provider about posting.

Refund or merchandise credit: what you’ll get back

Abercrombie’s store policy and online returns summary name different refund outcomes by transaction:

Transaction Refund form
Ordinary eligible store return within 30 days Original payment or merchandise credit
Qualifying store VIP return after day 30 Merchandise credit
Store gift-receipt, gift-card-funded or previously exchanged purchase Gift-card credit
Online return Original payment or merchandise credit
Cash-paid in-store ship-to-home order Not stated on return pages checked
Online split payment Allocation not stated on return pages checked

“Not stated” refers to the US return pages we checked; the full online returns page did not display its policy text when checked on October 28, 2026.

For cash-paid ship-to-home or split-payment orders, ask customer service where each amount will go before returning.

What if the refund never reaches your credit card?

Contact Abercrombie first. According to the FTC’s credit-card guidance, a missing return credit can be a billing error: your written dispute must reach the issuer’s billing-inquiry address within 60 days after the first bill containing the error was sent.

Keep return evidence. Quality disagreements aren’t ordinary billing errors, and debit-card protections differ; a dispute doesn’t guarantee a refund or replace return eligibility.

Abercrombie Exchanges

Abercrombie’s store policy allows free exchanges with proof within 30 days, or 60 for qualifying VIP members. If the desired size or color isn’t available, return for a refund, subject to the applicable refund-form rules.

The US return pages we checked don’t state online exchange eligibility, timing, dispatch triggers, stock fallback or charges. Ask through the help hub before relying on an exchange.

Items Abercrombie Won’t Take Back

Abercrombie’s store-policy exclusions restrict ordinary returns while preserving a faulty, damaged or misdescribed merchandise exception.

Item Rule What you can do
Final-sale merchandise No ordinary return or exchange Raise faults, damage or misdescription with support
Custom/personalized merchandise No ordinary return, exchange, cancellation or alteration Confirm details before ordering; report quality issues
US outlet clearance Final sale Check clearance status before buying
Gift cards Sales final and nonrefundable (store policy) Don’t purchase assuming a return is available
Faulty, damaged or misdescribed final-sale merchandise Excepted from final-sale exclusion Ask support for the procedure

The US return pages we checked don’t state swimwear, underwear, fragrance, face-mask or matching-set restrictions, or detailed tag, packaging and accessory tests. Ask before buying or keep everything as received; the confirmed ordinary standard is original condition.

Faulty, Damaged or Wrong Abercrombie Items

Abercrombie’s store policy preserves the fault, damage or misdescription exception. The US return pages we checked don’t state detailed procedures, deadlines, proof alternatives, remedies or shipping reimbursement. Contact help-hub chat or 866-681-3115 promptly, retain photos and packaging, and confirm instructions before shipping.

Delayed or unshipped online orders fall under a separate FTC shipping rule: sellers must offer a delay-or-cancel choice for shipping delays, and unshipped orders require a full refund rather than store credit. The FTC Cooling-Off Rule doesn’t cover ordinary online or permanent-store purchases.

Abercrombie Return Policy Mistakes That Cost You Money

  • Assuming online VIP means 60 days: The US return pages we checked give 60 days only for store purchases.
  • Counting from shipment: online rules use the later estimated or actual delivery of the last shipment.
  • Waiting until the final days to mail: the US return pages we checked don’t state the required deadline milestone; start and ship early.
  • Mailing a store purchase: ordinary store purchases must return to stores.
  • Taking retail items to outlets: outlet and retail routes differ, and outlet clearance is final sale.
  • Ignoring loyalty adjustments: returns can remove VIP status and leave negative points.

FAQ

Can I mail back something I bought in an Abercrombie store?

No. Abercrombie’s store policy requires ordinary store purchases to go back to a store; mailing to a store or distribution center isn’t allowed. Eligible store returns are free. An order placed in-store for home delivery is different: follow the online policy and confirm instructions for that order.

Does Abercrombie charge a restocking fee?

The US return pages we checked don’t state a restocking-fee rule, so a $0 promise isn’t supported. The confirmed $7 charge is a deduction for using the mailed return label. Ask customer service about any other deductions before sending the item, especially if your order shows a different refund estimate.

Will Abercrombie refund my original shipping charge?

The US return pages we checked don’t state whether original delivery, expedited delivery or handling charges are refunded. Those charges are separate from the $7 return-label deduction. Ask Abercrombie for an itemized refund explanation before returning, and don’t assume the merchandise refund includes what you paid to receive the order.

What do I get back if I return a gift with a gift receipt?

Under Abercrombie’s store policy, a qualifying gift-receipt return receives gift-card credit. Bring the gift receipt and keep the item in original condition within the applicable window. A gift receipt supports the transaction but doesn’t turn it into a cash or original-card refund under that store-policy rule.

Can I return or cash in an Abercrombie gift card?

Abercrombie’s store policy says gift-card sales are final and nonrefundable. The US return pages we checked don’t establish cash-redemption rights, so don’t treat a gift card like returnable merchandise. Ask Abercrombie about your particular card rather than assuming a return or cash-out option follows from the merchandise return policy.

Can I cancel an Abercrombie purchase under the FTC’s three-day rule?

No, the FTC’s Cooling-Off Rule doesn’t cover ordinary purchases made entirely online or negotiated at a permanent retail store. The rule therefore doesn’t supply a general three-day cancellation right for those Abercrombie purchases. Use the applicable retailer policy; delayed or unshipped orders involve a separate FTC shipping protection.

Official sources