Dunelm Returns Policy: 28 Days, Christmas Dates and Refunds
The Dunelm returns policy in the UK gives you 28 days from purchase for unused, originally packaged goods with a Dunelm receipt or order confirmation. Routes depend on size and purchase channel. Eligible purchases made between 12 October and 24 December 2026 can be returned until 31 January 2027.
Key facts
- Dunelm’s ordinary window is 28 days from purchase, online and in store, for unused goods with original packaging, tags and intact seals. Eligible purchases made 12 October–24 December 2026 can be returned until 31 January 2027.
- A Dunelm receipt or order confirmation is required for voluntary returns. A bank statement is accepted for faulty items only.
- Dunelm’s return routing treats an item as small only if it is less than 15 kg and under 120 cm in every direction. Paint is store-only; large online furniture needs collection.
- Refunds use the original payment method, with gift cards refunded first on mixed payments. Change-of-mind refunds exclude original delivery charges.
- Dunelm publishes no general return fee or universal free-return promise. Collection of unrepairable faulty furniture is free.
Which Dunelm return route fits your item
| Item | Where it goes | How to start | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Small online/app item | Store, Evri ParcelShop or home collection | My Account orders or guest tracker | Not published |
| Small store/Click & Collect item | Any Dunelm store | Receipt/confirmation; app barcode where available | Not stated |
| Sealed, unopened paint | Store only | Receipt or confirmation | Not stated |
| Large online/app furniture | Home collection | Customer service/live chat | Not published |
| Large item bought in store | Confirm with Dunelm first: pages differ | Customer service/live chat | Not published |
| Faulty small item, excluding furniture | Store refund; online replacement via order page | Proof of purchase/order details | Not published |
| Faulty furniture, sofa or mattress | Arrange assessment with Dunelm | 0345 165 6565/live chat; photos for orders over £199 | Free collection if unrepairable |
Start with Dunelm’s full returns policy, My Account orders or Track My Order. Use Contact us for collection help and the store locator for store returns.
How Long Do You Have to Return to Dunelm?
Dunelm gives eligible purchases 28 days from purchase under its voluntary policy. Delivery does not start this clock.
Day-counting, weekends and closures are undefined: return early. Dunelm does not specify whether booking, hand-over or arrival meets the remote deadline: complete hand-over or collection well inside the window.
For decorating projects, compare B&Q’s return window and routes. Eligible distance purchases have delivery-based cancellation rights.
Dunelm Christmas Returns 2026
Dunelm’s Christmas notice covers purchases 12 October–24 December 2026, returnable until 31 January 2027. Proof, condition rules and exclusions still apply. Earlier purchases follow the standard 28 days. Seasonal extensions “may apply” to exchanges; detailed exchange arrangements are unpublished.
Example: Assume you buy ready-made curtains online on 15 October 2026, keep them unused in their packaging and retain the confirmation. The purchase falls inside the Christmas range, so Dunelm’s notice gives you until 31 January 2027 rather than the standard 28 days.
Does booking a collection before 31 January count?
Dunelm does not say whether booking, hand-over or receipt meets its Christmas deadline or how delays affect eligibility. Arrange collection early in January; complete store returns or carrier hand-overs well before 31 January 2027. Keep proof.
What Condition Do Dunelm Returns Need to Be In?
Dunelm requires unused goods in original condition, with all packaging and tags and intact hygiene or security seals. Its sealed-only categories are returnable under the voluntary policy only sealed and unopened:
- Mattresses, toppers and bedding protectors.
- Duvets and covers; pillows and cases.
- Bedsheets, bedspreads, throws and blankets.
- Toilet seats and cosmetics.
- Paint and paint-your-own ranges.
Dunelm publishes no separate accessories or manuals checklist: return everything supplied in the box. Breaking a seal ends voluntary eligibility for these categories; faulty-goods remedies remain separate and need proof of purchase.
Can You Return to Dunelm Without a Receipt?
Yes, Dunelm accepts an order confirmation instead of a receipt. Without any Dunelm-issued proof, its policy offers no voluntary refund or exchange. Dunelm returns without a receipt need the confirmation; bank statements are accepted for faults only.
To recover documents, use My Account → All Orders → relevant order → Download VAT Receipt. Guests can use live chat with their order number. Keep the VAT receipt with your confirmation: VAT-only acceptance is unpublished.
ID-only returns, card lookups, gift-receipt rules and no-receipt credit are unpublished; ask the buyer for the confirmation. Click & Collect’s ID alternative concerns collection, not returns.
How to Return Something to Dunelm
Check size and purchase channel, start from your order and keep hand-over proof, following Dunelm’s return instructions.
Is your item small or large by Dunelm’s rules?
Dunelm defines small as less than 15 kg and under 120 cm in every direction, including small furniture. Its large-item wording says over 15 kg and over 120 cm in any direction.
Exactly 15 kg, exactly 120 cm and cases exceeding only one threshold are unpublished: ask Dunelm before booking.
Small online orders: store, Evri or home collection
Eligible small online purchases can use a store, Evri ParcelShop or home collection:
- Open My Account orders if logged in when buying, or Track My Order with your 10-digit order number and email for guest checkout.
- Choose the applicable store, ParcelShop or collection route.
- Pack the goods in their original packaging, following your order’s instructions.
- Keep proof of postage or collection until the refund arrives.
Dunelm does not publish whether you need authorisation, whether there is a label or QR code, what a label costs, how many parcels you can send or how to pack them. Follow what your order page shows. The app barcode is for in-store returns only.
Never post goods to Green Street or the Syston registered office. Dunelm’s FAQ says neither processes returns. Green Street’s cancellation-form address is not a goods-return address.
In-store and Click & Collect purchases
Eligible small store purchases and Dunelm Click & Collect returns go to any Dunelm store. Bring the receipt or confirmation and use the store finder.
The app instructions give My Account → Order History → create return to generate an in-store scanning barcode.
Paint: store returns only
Dunelm requires paint returns in store; online return routes are unavailable. Paint must remain sealed and unopened for a voluntary return.
Large furniture and bulky items
Large online or app furniture cannot go back to a store: arrange home collection through Dunelm customer service or live chat.
Dunelm’s returns pages and its Contact us page word large in-store purchases differently: the returns policy excludes large furniture from every store, while Contact us permits large store-bought items at a local store. Before transporting it, confirm your order’s route by live chat or 0345 165 6565.
For bulky purchases, compare John Lewis’s furniture-return arrangements and confirm Dunelm collection costs before booking.
Does Dunelm Charge for Returns?
Dunelm publishes no general Evri or home-collection fee and makes no universal free-return promise in its returns policy. One ottoman-bed product page advertises free returns subject to exclusions; that wording covers that product, not every order.
Original delivery is not refunded for change of mind; Dunelm says whole-order faulty or damaged delivery charges are refundable. Unrepairable faulty furniture is collected free.
For statutory online or phone cancellation, Dunelm says shoppers pay return or collection costs, without stating an amount. Under the cancellation rules, return costs fall on you unless Dunelm agrees to pay or failed to inform you; collection charges require your agreement. No per-item, order or parcel fee basis is published. Check your order’s options before confirming and ask if no price is shown.
How Long Do Dunelm Refunds Take?
Dunelm’s returns pages allow 7–10 working days for arrival, inspection, processing and confirmation email. Its main help page instead says home-collection processing can currently take up to 21 days, without dating that notice. The Dunelm refund policy gives conflicting estimates.
| Stage or payment | Returns policy/help wording | Other wording or provider posting |
|---|---|---|
| Return window | 28 days from purchase | Eligible Christmas purchases: until 31 January 2027 |
| Dunelm processing | 7–10 working days, including arrival and confirmation | Home collections: up to 21 days |
| Card | 3–5 working days from item arrival | Help: 3–5 days after processing, or from depot arrival/store return depending on route; reconciled bank posting: Not published |
| PayPal | Issued within 3–5 working days of arrival; then track with PayPal | Help: funds can take up to 28 days after processing; no reconciled posting figure |
| Klarna | Issued within 3–5 working days of arrival | Track with Klarna; final posting: Not published |
| Creation Finance | Issued within 3–5 working days of arrival | Creation applies it within 5–10 working days afterwards |
For an ordinary change-of-mind home collection, keep collection proof and allow up to 21 days before chasing. If you cancelled under the 14-day distance-selling right, the earlier legal deadline applies. Contact Dunelm if it is missed. Use Dunelm’s confirmation email or customer service to establish processing; for cards, count from confirmation before asking the card provider. After Dunelm confirms PayPal issue, follow up with PayPal. Klarna and Creation figures come from the full policy.
Dunelm’s figures overlap, so it gives no single total. Statutory cancellation has a separate legal refund deadline.
Where Dunelm sends your refund
Dunelm refunds the original payment method. Mixed payments are allocated gift card first, credit or debit card next, cash last. Gift-card refunds go onto a new card or an existing one in store; keep an expired card if returning goods bought with it.
Discount codes are split equally across products unless stated otherwise; refunds reflect the amount paid.
Example: Assume an £80 order used £30 gift-card value and £50 debit, with no previous refund. An approved £20 refund comes back as gift-card value.
Can You Exchange a Dunelm Online Order in Store?
No. Dunelm stores cannot directly exchange online purchases: return for a refund and buy the alternative, or place another online order. Store purchases can be exchanged within 28 days from purchase, subject to stock, proof and eligibility.
Exchange fees, general price-difference handling and promotional-price protection are unpublished: confirm before refunding and rebuying. The gift-card terms specify gift-card credit for money owed after a lower-priced exchange.
What Can’t You Return to Dunelm?
Dunelm excludes these categories from its voluntary policy:
- Personalised or custom goods, including Made to Measure and Made to Order sofas, beds, upholstery, curtains, blinds and accessories.
- Cut-to-length fabric.
- Perishables, including food and drink.
- Ex-display and less-than-perfect items.
- Live plants.
- Gift cards and e-gift cards.
Sealed-only goods remain conditionally returnable. Faults and incorrect specifications follow separate rules.
Made to Measure, Made to Order and personalised items
Custom goods can be returned for faults, damage or incorrect specification, subject to Dunelm’s stated 1 cm tolerance for custom specifications. Made to Order furniture has a 7-day goodwill amendment period, not a cancellation or refund window; standard 28-day returns do not apply.
For Made to Measure, Dunelm’s FAQ and its terms word cancellation differently. The FAQ says to contact your consultant before close of business on the order day. The terms say orders cannot be cancelled or amended once confirmed. If you need to cancel, contact your consultant the same day and get written confirmation. Do not assume it will be accepted.
Personalised orders cannot be cancelled or amended after confirmation. Customer-entered spelling and capitalisation are reproduced as entered, so customer typos do not earn refunds.
Check Measure’s MeasureSafe Guarantee offers free re-measurement and remaking for covered appointment-measurement errors: notify within 10 working days of delivery if you fit them yourself, or within 10 working days of fitting if Dunelm fits them. It covers specified measured products, excluding outside measurements and relevant subsequent layout, frame, fitting or order changes.
Returns Outlet, ex-display and sale items
Faulty Returns Outlet purchases qualify for refund or repair, not replacement because stock is limited. A disclosed defect cannot itself support a later fault claim; a different fault can.
Dunelm publishes no separate ordinary sale or clearance window or blanket final-sale rule. Check your item’s terms; sale goods retain statutory rights, separate from ex-display exclusions.
Faulty Dunelm Items and Your Consumer Rights
Faults follow a separate track from the 28-day change-of-mind policy. Dunelm accepts other purchase evidence, including bank statements, for faulty items.
Faulty small items
Dunelm offers refund or replacement for faults within 30 days of purchase or delivery, as applicable. After 30 days it says repair or replacement, with a refund if neither is possible. After six months you may need to show the original fault; a later refund may reflect use.
The store route is refund only, excluding furniture and large items; faulty items cannot be exchanged there. Its help says the cardholder must be present for an in-store card refund. Contact Dunelm if you cannot use a store.
For small faulty online goods, request replacement through My Account or Track My Order; Dunelm sends it after the return arrives.
Faulty sofas, mattresses and furniture
Contact Dunelm promptly on 0345 165 6565 or live chat. Its furniture instructions request damage photos for orders over £199.
Within 30 days of receipt, you may reject faulty furniture for a full refund even if repair or replacement is offered. After 30 days, Dunelm requests images and arranges an independent expert’s home inspection, with repair where possible. Dunelm says it shares your details with the independent repair company to arrange this. See its furniture assessment instructions. If unrepairable, it collects free and provides replacement or refund where statutory rights allow.
Can you cancel a Dunelm order after placing it?
Dunelm’s help and contact pages say home-delivery orders cannot be cancelled once placed; its policy and terms recognise statutory cancellation. Treat the former as a limit on stopping dispatch, not removal of legal rights.
For eligible online or phone orders, you can cancel from ordering until 14 days after receipt; use the last receipt for split deliveries. If dispatch cannot be stopped, tell Dunelm clearly in writing, by live chat or through the Contact us page, that you are cancelling. If Dunelm offers to collect the goods, follow the collection it arranges. Otherwise, send or hand the goods back within 14 days of your notice. See regulation 35. Keep the cancellation confirmation; GOV.UK explains the deadlines.
Under regulation 34, Dunelm must refund without undue delay. If it has not offered to collect, the deadline is 14 days after it gets the goods back or you show you sent them, whichever is earlier. If it has offered to collect, the deadline is 14 days after your cancellation notice. Full eligible-order cancellation includes standard delivery, not premium-delivery excess. Dunelm can deduct for loss in value caused by handling the goods more than you would in a shop, provided it gave you the required cancellation information.
Legal exceptions include personalised goods, rapidly perishable goods and unsealed health or hygiene goods. Faulty-goods rejection remains separate.
What UK law adds
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 normally gives 30 days to reject non-conforming goods, starting the day after possession or ownership, delivery and required installation steps are complete. Tell Dunelm clearly that you reject the goods. For repair or replacement within six months, the retailer must show the goods were not faulty at purchase; afterwards you may need proof.
On rejection, section 20 places reasonable return costs on the trader, except personal return to where you took possession. Refund is due without undue delay and within 14 days of agreement that you are entitled.
Guarantees add to legal rights. For Dunelm-branded guarantee claims, take small items and proof to a store; contact customer care for larger goods.
What if Dunelm doesn’t resolve your complaint?
Contact Dunelm through live chat or Contact us and ask for your complaint to be escalated. If it remains unresolved, ask Dunelm for its registered alternative dispute resolution (ADR) provider. Dunelm decides case by case whether to take part.
This guide cannot see your order’s return options, label prices or which conflicting refund notice Dunelm applies. Your order page or customer service must confirm those details; read how StoreReturners checks retailer policies.
Dunelm Returns Policy Mistakes That Cost You Money
- Posting goods to Green Street or Syston: neither administrative address processes returns.
- Unsealing a duvet or mattress before deciding: sealed-only goods lose voluntary eligibility.
- Booking collection on the last day: Dunelm does not confirm booking meets the deadline.
- Taking a large online sofa to a store: arrange home collection instead. Compare Next’s furniture-return process when considering alternatives.
- Expecting original delivery back for change of mind: Dunelm excludes it from voluntary refunds.
- Assuming a 5 October 2026 purchase gets Christmas coverage: it falls outside the stated purchase range.
FAQ
Can I return a Dunelm gift without a receipt?
Dunelm requires its receipt or order confirmation for voluntary returns, so ask the buyer for the confirmation if you lack a receipt. Gift-receipt acceptance, gift-recipient entitlements and no-receipt credit are not published in the reviewed policy. Do not assume ID or a payment-card lookup will replace Dunelm-issued proof.
Can I return a mattress I’ve unwrapped?
No, not under Dunelm’s voluntary policy once the required seal is broken: mattresses must remain sealed and unopened. A fault follows a different route. Contact Dunelm about faulty mattresses; within 30 days of receipt, you may reject for a full refund even when repair or replacement is offered.
Where do I post a Dunelm return?
Dunelm’s reviewed pages publish no self-post goods address. For an eligible small online purchase, start the Evri ParcelShop route through My Account or Track My Order and follow the instructions for your order. Never post goods to Green Street or the Syston registered office; neither address can process returns.
Does a discount code reduce my Dunelm refund?
Yes. Dunelm refunds what you actually paid, excluding the saving from a discount code. Unless stated otherwise, the discount is split equally across products, so a returned item’s refund reflects its allocated discount. Check your order confirmation rather than expecting the undiscounted price.
Do marketplace sellers or loyalty members get different rules?
Dunelm’s reviewed pages publish no separate marketplace-seller return terms or membership benefits changing returns. That does not mean none exist. Check your seller, order details and any specific terms before relying on the standard policy; ask Dunelm to confirm anything that differs for your purchase.
Official sources
The Dunelm returns policy sources below cover UK purchases; browse more UK store guides for other retailers.
- Dunelm returns policy, returns and refunds, terms, FAQ and main help page — checked 28 October 2026.
- Contact us, Click & Collect, account orders, guest tracker, store locator and ottoman-bed product page — checked 28 October 2026.
- GOV.UK: returns and refunds — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Rights Act 2015: section 22 and section 20 — checked 28 October 2026.
- Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013: regulation 30, regulation 34, regulation 28 and current consolidated text, including regulation 35 — checked 28 October 2026.