John Lewis Return Policy: 30 Days, Christmas Dates and Refunds
The John Lewis return policy (UK) allows 30 days for most unused, resaleable items with proof of purchase. Eligible small-item returns are free through John Lewis routes; unwanted large-item collection costs £29.95. Christmas gifts bought 1 October–24 December 2026 can be returned until 23 January 2027.
Key facts
- John Lewis gives 30 days for most unwanted items; its pages count from receipt or purchase, so use purchase to be safe.
- Eligible small online items have shop, parcel and carrier-collection routes; unwanted large-item collection costs £29.95, or is free for damaged/faulty goods.
- Gifts bought 1 October–24 December 2026 qualify for Christmas returns until 23 January 2027, subject to exclusions.
- Ordinary refunds use the original payment method: allow up to 14 days from posting, or within 5 days for John Lewis shop returns.
- Shop purchases return only to John Lewis, excluding Swindon Outlet. Jewellery/watches over £500 need a jewellery-stockist shop; specialist guidance includes exactly £500.
Ways to return to John Lewis — method restrictions and large-item charges apply.
| Route | Use it for | Cost | Limits | Refund timing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| John Lewis shop | Shop and eligible online purchases | Free | Not Swindon Outlet; electricals at specialist returns points; no unwanted large goods (faulty TVs: see faults) | Within 5 days |
| Waitrose and Booths | Eligible small online items | Free through offered route | 140×80×70cm, 30kg; no Welcome Break Waitrose; no blades | Not published separately |
| Royal Mail | Eligible small online items | Free through offered route | 61×46×46cm, 20kg | Allow up to 14 days from sending |
| Evri | Eligible small online items | Free through offered route | 120×100cm, 15kg; no blades | Allow up to 14 days from sending |
| Carrier home collection | Eligible small online items | Use offered route; confirm charge | Order-specific options | Not published separately |
| Large-item collection | Two-person-delivery goods | £29.95 unwanted; free damaged/faulty | Arrange with John Lewis | Not published |
| Jewellery-stockist shop | Jewellery/watches over £500; treat £500 likewise | Shop return free | No post/courier | Up to 14 days checking; account timing not published |
| Eight designated shops | Uber Eats purchases | Not published | App details and paper receipt; see below | Not published |
How Long Do You Have to Return to John Lewis?
John Lewis allows 30 days for most unwanted goods bought online or in its shops; business orders use the Business Team. Approved-supplier delivery fulfils a John Lewis purchase; it does not establish a marketplace seller. Separate marketplace or concession terms are not published in the reviewed policy.
Goods must be unused and resaleable, with packaging, labels and tags retained, without stored personal data or user registration. Opening to inspect is allowed, subject to category exclusions. The policy publishes neither a separate sale window nor an accessories checklist: keep everything supplied.
Does the 30 days start when you buy or when it arrives?
John Lewis’s how-to page counts from receipt, and its main policy excludes purchases received over 30 days ago. Its exchange and gift pages count 30 days from purchase instead.
Use the purchase or order date to be safe; for shop purchases the dates usually coincide. Day-one counting, calendar versus working days and weekend adjustments are not published: act a few days early. Check your order’s return-start screen or Customer Services for the answer applying to your order.
Is booking a return by day 30 enough?
John Lewis does not say whether booking, dispatch, a carrier scan or warehouse receipt meets its voluntary deadline. Drop off several days early and keep postage evidence; its instructions exempt John Lewis or Waitrose shop returns from that evidence requirement. The 14-day legal cancellation right, explained below, does not change this.
Are John Lewis Returns Free?
John Lewis offers free eligible small-item returns by post or to a shop through its routes. Unwanted large-item collection costs £29.95; damaged or faulty large-item collection is free. Large goods include two-person deliveries such as appliances and furniture.
| Route/situation | Charge |
|---|---|
| Eligible small item by offered post/shop route | Free |
| Unwanted large-item collection | £29.95 |
| Damaged/faulty large-item collection | Free |
| Independently purchased postage | Reimbursement not promised |
The returns policy offers free small-item post or shop returns; its terms word cancellation costs differently, putting return costs on the customer. Use the route offered in your return-start flow; confirm uncertainty with Customer Services before buying postage.
John Lewis does not publish how £29.95 applies across several items, or how it collects the charge. Its returns pages do not list a restocking fee. Delivery refunds outside legal cancellation, partial-return delivery charges and installation or service charges are not specified: ask before proceeding. Statutory cancellation refunds standard outbound delivery (see below).
How to Return to John Lewis: Choose Your Route
Choose by purchase channel, then size, then category. If you’re comparing department stores, our Debenhams return policy guide covers its return rules; find more UK store guides for other retailers.
Bought in a John Lewis shop
Shop purchases go back only to John Lewis shops, excluding Swindon Outlet. Take electricals to the specialist in-store returns point, with your receipt or saved My John Lewis receipt. Use the shop finder before travelling.
Ordered online: start the return
Start through John Lewis’s return request page:
- Sign in to your orders, or enter your order number and email as a guest.
- Select the items, return reason and offered method.
- Follow the emailed label or QR code instructions. Website order details can download labels; the app cannot.
- Pack securely and attach the label or show the QR code as instructed.
- Drop off or hand over for collection using the selected route.
- Keep postage evidence, except for John Lewis or Waitrose shop drop-offs.
The method guide explains changing or cancelling requests through Customer Services. Check parcel limits before choosing a drop-off.
Which drop-off points take John Lewis parcels?
John Lewis shops, eligible Waitrose and Booths locations, Royal Mail and Evri accept qualifying small online returns. The carrier limits differ:
| Drop-off | Maximum dimensions | Maximum weight |
|---|---|---|
| Waitrose/Booths | 140×80×70cm | 30kg |
| Royal Mail | 61×46×46cm | 20kg |
| Evri | 120×100cm, as published | 15kg |
Waitrose at Welcome Break is excluded; blades cannot use Waitrose, Booths or Evri. Order-specific options appear in the return flow. Unwanted large goods go by collection, not to a shop.
Large items: book a collection
Contact John Lewis through its large-item return page to arrange collection. Confirm the £29.95 unwanted-item charge for your booking; the multiple-item basis and collection mechanism are unpublished, so an exact net refund cannot be predicted.
Bought through Uber Eats or Deliveroo
John Lewis’s delivery-provider guidance directs Uber Eats returns within 30 days of purchase to eight shops: Stratford City, Kingston, Oxford Street, Peter Jones, Canary Wharf, White City, Welwyn and Bluewater.
Bring app order details and the paper receipt. Uber Eats refunds the original payment method; online, Click & Collect and Waitrose returns are unavailable for these orders. The page covers Deliveroo too, but its detailed return steps name Uber Eats: ask before travelling with a Deliveroo purchase.
For damaged or missing items, contact Uber Eats or Deliveroo in the app (Account → Help → Help with your order) within 14 days of placing the order. Statutory rights for faults that develop later are not affected.
Items With Their Own Return Rules
John Lewis gives jewellery, blades, some rechargeable devices and one named phone their own return steps. Its battery guidance says some devices with rechargeable lithium batteries, including the iPhone 18 Pro Max, need the battery switched off, then a 2-hour wait before posting. Ask John Lewis before posting if unsure.
Jewellery and watches over £500
Jewellery and watches over £500 must go to a John Lewis shop stocking jewellery, not by post or courier; specialist checking can take up to 14 days. The main policy says “over £500”, while the specialist page says “£500 or more”. Treat exactly £500 as a specialist return; use the jewellery-stockist shop list, and confirm uncertainty with John Lewis before sending anything.
Can you return a knife to Waitrose or Evri?
No. John Lewis’s bladed-item guidance permits John Lewis shops or Royal Mail only, excluding Waitrose, Booths and Evri. Protect edges with cardboard or cushioning if original packaging is missing.
Returning an iPhone 18 Pro Max
John Lewis’s instructions say this return cannot be arranged online. Call 03456 100 344 with the device and serial number ready, or visit a John Lewis shop excluding Canary Wharf and Swindon Outlet with the order confirmation. Do not erase or reset it first, even though general device advice says to remove data. John Lewis’s device instructions were checked on 28 October 2026 and can change; check the how-to page again before preparing the phone.
What John Lewis Won’t Take Back
John Lewis’s voluntary-policy exclusions include:
- General: live plants and trees, expiring food, custom or personalised goods, opened or redeemed software and opened gift cards.
- Hygiene: beauty products that are opened, used or unsealed; personal care products including electric razors and breast pumps; briefs, underwear and stick-on bras; unsealed swimwear; all earrings; face coverings; bedding; mattresses; toilet seats and brushes.
Supplier promotions can change mattress eligibility; trial lengths and charges are not in the general policy, so check the product’s promotion. Faulty or misdescribed goods retain legal rights.
Can You Return to John Lewis Without a Receipt?
John Lewis refuses a voluntary refund or exchange without some proof of purchase; a paper receipt is not the only supported evidence. Its policy and shop guidance recognise order confirmation, order number and saved My John Lewis store receipts. The membership terms say the membership card alone is not proof.
Bank-statement-only returns, ID-only refunds, payment-card lookup and credit without proof are not published voluntary options: retrieve order evidence or ask Customer Services. Separately, GOV.UK recognises alternatives such as bank statements for legal claims over faulty goods.
Returning a gift from John Lewis
Bring the receipt or delivery note. John Lewis’s gift guidance allows a recipient returning in shop an exchange or gift-card value; posting the gift back refunds the buyer. Ask for a gift receipt in shop; these are not offered for every online order.
John Lewis Christmas Returns 2026
John Lewis’s Christmas notice covers gifts bought 1 October–24 December 2026, returnable until 23 January 2027 if unwanted or unsuitable. Conditions and exclusions remain, and statutory rights are unaffected. The notice does not specify whether booking, dispatch or receipt meets the postal deadline: drop off well beforehand.
Example: Assume an unused scarf with labels, bought as a gift on 20 October 2026, with order confirmation. Its ordinary window would end in November, but the gift qualifies for the published 23 January 2027 deadline. Creating a label that day is not confirmed as sufficient.
John Lewis does not say which deadline applies if an order’s ordinary 30 days would end after 23 January 2027, or whether Uber Eats and Deliveroo orders qualify: ask John Lewis before relying on either. For department-store gift comparisons, check our M&S returns guide, which has its own 2026 dates.
How Long Does a John Lewis Refund Take?
John Lewis says to allow up to 14 days from sending a posted return; John Lewis shop refunds should appear within 5 days. Its method guide separates transit, checking and account credit:
| Stage | Posted return | John Lewis shop return | Jewellery over £500 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Return window | 30 days; qualifying Christmas gifts until 23 January 2027 | Same policy, subject to exceptions | Same policy, subject to exceptions |
| 2. Transit + retailer processing | Up to 7 days transit + up to 2 days checking | Not published separately | Up to 14 days specialist checking |
| 3. Money in account | Within 5 days of processing email | Within 5 days of shop return | Not published |
John Lewis does not specify calendar or working days for these stages or individual bank or provider posting times.
Example: Assume a parcel dropped at Royal Mail: up to 7 days arriving + 2 checking + 5 for account credit = 14 days, John Lewis’s stated total allowance.
If no refund appears 14 days after sending, use the refund-contact link under “Issues with your returns” in John Lewis’s returns policy. If you sent the wrong item, contact John Lewis straight away with your order details; John Lewis does not promise it can recover it.
Where does a John Lewis refund go?
Ordinary refunds use the original payment method. Online gift-card-funded purchases receive an e-gift card at the purchase email; shop purchases paid for by gift card are refunded to a gift card, subject to your statutory rights. Gift recipients returning in shop receive an exchange or gift-card value; posted gifts refund the buyer. Mixed-payment splits and finance cancellation mechanics are unpublished: ask John Lewis.
Partial returns, discount codes and free gifts
John Lewis’s policy requires promotional free gifts back with the qualifying purchase for a full refund. A partial promo-code basket return loses a proportionate share of the discount; the allocation formula is unpublished. Do not budget for the full undiscounted item price.
Can You Exchange at John Lewis?
Yes: John Lewis’s exchange page permits shop exchanges for eligible items under 15kg within 30 days of purchase. Online buyers can instead return for refund and reorder. Exchange fees, guaranteed stock, price-difference handling and large-item exchange timing are unpublished: confirm before travelling.
Faulty or Damaged Items and Your Legal Rights
John Lewis’s policy promises refund or exchange for manufacturing faults within 30 days of purchase, with proof; after that, repair or replacement under the Consumer Rights Act 2015. Check the manual, manufacturer guidance and troubleshooting advice, then use its product-problem help to contact John Lewis. After troubleshooting, a faulty TV or markdown item can be taken to a local John Lewis shop with the receipt, delivery note or order number; other large goods may need an engineer. Troubleshooting does not remove a legal rejection right.
Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, the 30-day short-term right to reject normally starts the day after ownership or possession passes, the goods are delivered and any required installation is complete; perishable goods can have a shorter period. Communicate rejection and make goods available. John Lewis bears reasonable return costs, except the cost of returning goods personally to the place where you took physical possession of them. Refunds are due without undue delay, within 14 days of agreement that you qualify, using the same payment method unless expressly agreed otherwise, without a refund fee.
GOV.UK confirms sale goods retain legal rights; ordinary shop purchases have no general statutory change-of-mind right. The voluntary policy supplies that route.
This guide cannot see your order; order-specific return options were not tested, and John Lewis decides voluntary eligibility. Read how StoreReturners checks official pages.
What if your John Lewis item arrived damaged?
For johnlewis.com orders, photograph the damage, send photos and details through John Lewis’s email form, then call with the case reference, following its damage guidance. Damaged large-item collection is free.
After 30 days: repairs, replacements and guarantees
John Lewis’s terms include a second year service guarantee for electrical and technology goods and five years for TVs, subject to product terms and exclusions. Guarantees add to statutory rights.
For repair or replacement, faults emerging within six months are generally presumed present at delivery unless rebutted or incompatible with the goods or fault. Six months is an evidence rule, not an unwanted-return window. Failed or unavailable remedies can lead to a price reduction or final rejection under the Act. If comparing where to buy a TV or appliance, our Currys returns guide explains its returns.
Can you cancel an online order under UK law?
Yes, for eligible distance purchases: the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 allow notification within 14 days after delivery, then another 14 days after notification to send goods back, unless John Lewis collects. Multiple deliveries can alter the start.
A clear statement suffices; timely sending meets the notice deadline. The terms list email, phone 03456 049 049, or post to Customer Services, johnlewis.com, Selectapost 57, Sheffield S97 3GL.
Standard outbound delivery is refunded; premium uplift is excluded. Without offered collection, reimbursement is due within 14 days of goods arriving back or earlier dispatch evidence; with offered collection, the trigger is cancellation notice.
Shop-style inspection is allowed; excessive handling can reduce refunds. Custom or perishable goods and unsealed hygiene or software goods have exemptions. This right sits alongside the 30-day policy; it does not lengthen it.
John Lewis Return Policy Mistakes That Cost You Money
The John Lewis return policy has several details to check before handing goods over:
- Counting only from delivery: exchange and gift pages use purchase; use the earlier date safely.
- Posting on day 30: the voluntary postal milestone is unpublished; drop off early.
- Sending restricted products normally: knives cannot use Evri or Waitrose; £500 watches should use a jewellery-stockist shop.
- Resetting an iPhone 18 Pro Max first: follow its specific contact instruction.
- Posting a gift expecting recipient credit: the refund goes to the buyer.
- Keeping free gifts or expecting undiscounted refunds: promotions affect refund value.
- Using only a membership card: retrieve transaction proof instead.
FAQ
Can I return a John Lewis online order to Waitrose?
Yes, eligible small online orders can go to Waitrose, excluding Welcome Break sites. The published parcel limit is 140×80×70cm and 30kg. Blades cannot use this route. Select an offered method through John Lewis’s return flow and check category restrictions before taking the parcel to the shop.
Does My John Lewis membership give a longer return window?
John Lewis does not publish a longer member return window or general fee waiver in its reviewed terms. Membership helps through saved shop receipts, which can support proof of purchase. The My John Lewis card itself is not proof: retrieve the actual receipt or order evidence before returning.
Can I return sale items to John Lewis?
John Lewis’s general policy does not publish a separate sale or clearance window, so use the standard 30-day policy as the reference and check item exclusions. Ask about any product-specific terms before waiting. Sale goods retain legal rights if faulty or misdescribed; a discount does not remove those protections.
Can I return a mattress to John Lewis?
Mattresses are excluded under John Lewis’s hygiene rules unless a supplier promotion changes eligibility. The general policy does not specify promotion trial lengths or charges: check the actual product offer before arranging collection. A faulty mattress retains statutory rights, which are separate from an unwanted mattress return.
How do I track or cancel a John Lewis return?
Track through account order details or the confirmation email; contact Customer Services to change or cancel a request. Use John Lewis’s refund-status guidance for the official route. Label downloads are available in website order details, while the app does not offer that download option.
Official sources
-
Returns Policy. Our customers terms & conditions — checked 28 October 2026.
-
How to return items to us — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Terms and conditions — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Exchanges — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Returning a large item — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Request a return / Find your order — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Returning a gift — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Returning jewellery or a watch with a value of £500 or more — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Buy and return bladed items — checked 28 October 2026.
-
We’re sorry your item arrived damaged — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Contact us / Product problems & guarantees — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Delivery providers / Deliveroo and Uber Eats FAQs — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Check the status of your refund — checked 28 October 2026.
-
John Lewis shops that stock jewellery — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Accepting returns and giving refunds: the law — checked 28 October 2026.
-
The Consumer Contracts (Information, Cancellation and Additional Charges) Regulations 2013 — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Consumer Rights Act 2015 — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Returning an item to one of our John Lewis & Partner shops — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Faulty Item / Before contacting us, please try the following — checked 28 October 2026.
-
Delivery by our approved suppliers — checked 28 October 2026.