The Range Return Policy: 14 or 28 Days, Fees and Refunds
The Range return policy gives unused off-the-shelf store purchases 14 calendar days. For direct online orders, its main returns page allows notice within 14 days of receipt and return within 28 days in total, but its help page says return within 14 days, so act within 14. Marketplace Partner items follow the seller’s process.
- Off-the-shelf purchases must be original and unused, returned within 14 calendar days with the till receipt.
- Eligible smaller direct online items can go back to a store free within 14 days once Customer Care has authorised the return; Marketplace items cannot.
- Postal returns need authorisation and tracked or recorded delivery; direct postal and collection prices are not published.
- Published Marketplace collection fees range from £4 for Small, 2kg, to £75 for Extra Large, 200kg.
- Refund processing takes 3–5 working days after receipt of the goods, to the original payment method; bank time is not published.
Which The Range return route fits your purchase
| Purchase | Deadline as published | How to return | Cost | Refund |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Off-the-shelf store purchase | 14 calendar days | A Range store; never the Returns Centre | No return charge stated; bring receipt | Original payment |
| Smaller direct online item, store route | 14 days | Authorise first, then a Range store with delivery note | Free | Original payment |
| Direct online item, postal route | Main page: notify within 14 days, return within 28 total; help: 14 days | Customer Care authorisation, then tracked post | Not published | Processing: 3–5 working days after receipt |
| Large direct online item | Same online wording difference | Customer Care collection | Not published; terms reserve deductions | Processing: 3–5 working days after receipt |
| Click & Collect / in-store order point | Online rules | As the matching online row | As the matching online row | As the matching online row |
| Marketplace Partner item | FAQ: 14 + 14 days; seller help: 14 from receipt; general help: 14 from purchase | Contact Seller or Customer Care; authorised post or collection | Collection chart: £4–£75 | Similar 3–5-working-day processing |
| Faulty or damaged on arrival | Report now; free route: return within 14 days | Customer Care or Contact Seller | Free under that route | Statutory rights also apply |
Which The Range Return Rules Apply to Your Order?
The Range’s return route depends on who sold the item and how you bought it. Check the listing or order email for a Marketplace Partner identified as the seller and dispatcher; those goods use the seller’s process.
The returns policy puts Click & Collect and in-store order-point purchases under online rules. The seven-day Click & Collect hold after the Ready to Collect email is a pickup period, not a return window.
If you are comparing general-merchandise chains, see Argos’s return rules or more UK store return guides.
How Long Do You Have to Return Items to The Range?
The Range allows 14 calendar days for off-the-shelf store purchases; online deadlines differ across its pages. The terms use whole calendar days and allow notice until 23:59 on the final day, but do not establish a consistent day-one rule.
Store purchases: 14 calendar days
The Range requires off-the-shelf goods back within 14 calendar days of receipt, original and unused, with the till receipt. Take them to a store: the terms exclude off-the-shelf purchases from Returns Centre returns.
Online orders: why The Range’s pages say 14 and 28 days
The main returns page says notify within 14 days of receipt, then return within a further 14 days, capped at 28 days from receipt. The direct-seller help page instead says return within 14 days. The pages word it differently, so notify Customer Care and send the item back within 14 days of receiving it; if you need longer than 14 days to send it under The Range’s own 28-day wording, get that date confirmed in your authorisation.
The main page counts from receipt. The Range’s terms, clause 6.1.3, instead tie the period to when the contract is formed, which can be before delivery, so notify as soon as you decide to return and ask Customer Care to confirm your deadline. Clause 6.5.1 also uses a different notice formula: the later of 28 days after processing notification or 14 days after final delivery, alongside a separate return cap. Notify early rather than relying on that formula.
For the store route, the FAQ and in-store help say 14 days. Take online orders to a store within 14 days: the main page’s longer timeline is not stated to apply to that route. Ask Customer Care before attempting a later store return.
Example: Assume an unused online lamp sold by The Range, returned for change of mind under the main page’s structure. Notify in its arrival week and post tracked promptly. Waiting for “day 28” relies on the main page alone. Whether the postal cutoff means posting, carrier scan or arrival is unpublished: confirm in the authorisation and keep proof.
What Does UK Law Add to the Online Window?
Eligible distance purchases normally give you 14 days after possession to cancel, then 14 days after notice to send or hand back goods when the trader has not undertaken collection. Qualifying split orders count from the last delivery; sending within the legal send-back period is enough under the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013.
For an eligible statutory cancellation, the 14 days to send the goods back after giving notice do not depend on the retailer’s permission; authorisation only settles where and how to send them.
A clear cancellation email works; the retailer’s form is optional. Keep evidence of notice. Exceptions include genuinely personalised/custom-made goods and specified unsealed hygiene/media goods. These rights run alongside the retailer’s wording; they do not resolve its internal differences or create a store-bought change-of-mind right.
Is There a Christmas 2026 Return Extension at The Range?
The Range had not published a Christmas 2026 return extension when its returns page and FAQ were checked on 28 October 2026. Check the returns page and FAQ again before relying on a festive deadline, and do not reuse an earlier season’s dates.
How to Return an Item to The Range
Cancelling an order before it ships
The Range’s returns page allows cancellation before dispatch: contact Customer Care for direct orders, or use Contact Seller in your order email for Marketplace orders. Once dispatched, use the return routes below; statutory cancellation still applies to eligible goods after dispatch. Made-to-order goods follow the 48-hour rule in the exclusions section.
Returning an online order to a store
Most smaller direct online items qualify; larger products such as furniture generally do not. The store-return guidance excludes Marketplace items.
- Tell Customer Care through My Account or the contact page that you plan a store return, and wait for confirmation; the terms let The Range refuse online-order store returns made without prior notification or authorisation.
- Check that The Range sold the item and it remains original and unused.
- Find a branch through the Store Finder.
- Take the item and delivery note within 14 days. The Range says this route is free.
Returning by post
- Start through My Account, the order email’s Contact Us link or Customer Care. The support-request form is another contact route.
- Wait for authorisation and confirmation of the destination.
- Pack securely and mark the parcel with your full name and order number.
- Use tracked or recorded delivery to the authorised address.
- Keep proof of delivery for any follow-up.
The postal instructions allow an included label, but a label does not establish free or prepaid postage. Courier names, parcel-shop networks, QR codes, printable-label steps and a guest returns portal are not published; ask Customer Care for your options.
Which Returns Address Should You Use?
Use only the address Customer Care confirms in your authorisation or supplied label. The official pages give two destinations:
- Main returns page and FAQ: Customer Returns, The Range, Unit 1, Gateway Boulevard, Stowmarket IP14 5XS.
- Direct-seller help page: Customer Returns, Building 3/2, Vantage Point Business Village, Mitcheldean, Gloucestershire GL17 0DD.
The pages word it differently; confirm before posting. Neither address is a destination for Marketplace goods.
Booking a collection for large items
For bulky direct goods, contact Customer Care to arrange collection. The help page describes doorstep or safe outdoor collection, sometimes by the supplier.
- Give Customer Care the order and item details.
- Confirm the collection arrangements and total charge before accepting.
- Prepare the item at the agreed place and time.
The terms classify direct goods as Regular under 30kg or Large over 35kg/oversize; those classes explicitly exclude Marketplace goods. Collection deductions and a failed-collection charge are reserved, but amounts are not published. Statutory cancellation collection costs require your agreement. For a home-retailer comparison, read Dunelm’s returns and collection rules.
Does The Range Charge for Returns?
Eligible direct online store returns are free. For direct postal or collection change-of-mind returns, help says a fee may apply, while generic help says a fee applies; neither publishes an amount. Ask Customer Care for a quote, including failed-collection charges.
Under the Consumer Contracts Regulations, shoppers normally pay direct return costs if told beforehand, unless the trader agrees to pay. Collection costs require agreement; these rules do not permit extra return charges or reimbursement fees.
Ordinary and partial-order delivery refunds are not clearly published. Eligible whole-order distance cancellations include standard outbound delivery, with premium delivery refunded only up to the standard value.
Returning Marketplace Partner Items
Start Marketplace returns through Contact Seller in your order email or through Customer Care; never take or send them to a Range store or The Range Returns Centre. Keep change-of-mind goods unused; the Marketplace help requires original packaging and careful packing for posting.
The FAQ includes Marketplace in its 14-day notice plus further 14-day return structure, capped at 28 days. Seller help instead says return within 14 days of receipt. The Range’s general returns help instead counts its Marketplace postal window from purchase. The pages word it differently, so contact the seller as soon as the item arrives and return within 14 days of receipt, or sooner if the seller’s authorisation says so. Statutory cancellation rights remain separate.
- Contact the seller or Customer Care with your order number and a photo of the item.
- Wait for authorisation and the seller’s method and destination.
- For posting, use a supplied label; without one, send by recorded delivery to the address you were given, marked with your name and order number.
- Keep proof of postage and delivery.
The FAQ says Marketplace items can only be posted, whereas seller help offers Arrange a Collection. Ask the seller or Customer Care which method is authorised; use the seller’s written instructions and destination. The Range’s refund help says Marketplace sellers process refunds on a similar 3–5 working-day timescale after receiving the goods.
How Much Do Marketplace Collections Cost?
The official Marketplace collection chart lists the following change-of-mind charges:
| Size class | Item weight | Collection fee |
|---|---|---|
| Small | 2kg | £4 |
| Regular | 25kg | £5 |
| Medium | 35kg | £15 |
| Large | 50kg | £35 |
| Extra Large | 100kg | £50 |
| Extra Large | 200kg | £75 |
The chart does not publish whether charges are per item, order or parcel, intermediate-weight pricing, inclusive boundaries or remote-area supplements. Get a seller quote before booking. These Marketplace collection charges are neither made-to-order cancellation fees nor The Range’s direct-goods tariff.
The Range Refunds: How Long Do They Take?
The Range publishes 3–5 working days after receiving returned goods for refund processing. The refund help gives similar Marketplace timing.
| Stage | Published timing |
|---|---|
| Return window | Route-specific deadlines above; notify early |
| Retailer/seller processing | 3–5 working days after receiving goods |
| Separate Returns Centre ceiling in the terms | 14 calendar days after receipt; not added to the processing target |
| Bank/card/provider posting | Not published |
For eligible statutory cancellations, regulation 34 requires reimbursement without undue delay, normally within 14 days after receiving goods or earlier proof of sending. If the trader offered collection, the deadline is 14 days after cancellation notice. No reimbursement fee applies.
Where Does the Refund Go?
The Range refunds the original payment method unless you agree otherwise. Allocation for split payments, gift cards, Klarna/Clearpay and lost-card refunds is not published. Ask Customer Care before returning if one of those situations applies.
Can You Return to The Range Without a Receipt?
The Range asks for the original physical till receipt or delivery note and may refuse a refund without either, according to its terms, clause 6.6.4. Card/account lookup, gift receipts, ID-only returns and no-receipt store credit are not published alternatives: ask before travelling.
For statutory faulty-goods claims, GOV.UK says proof can include a bank statement or packaging. That does not create a voluntary change-of-mind concession. UK law provides no automatic change-of-mind refund right for in-person purchases.
Exchanges at The Range
The Range does not exchange online orders, including Marketplace purchases: return and reorder instead. Return eligibility and charges still apply. Dedicated off-the-shelf exchange rules, fees and price protection are not published; ask in store with the receipt.
Items The Range Won’t Take Back
The Range’s terms, clause 6.1.9, exclude these from its voluntary change-of-mind policy:
- Unsealed hygiene goods, media and software.
- Goods mixed inseparably with other items.
- Personalised or specially sourced goods.
- Assembled or used goods, damaged goods and unreasonably damaged packaging.
Opening solely to inspect is distinguished from use. Under statutory cancellation rules, shop-like inspection is allowed; excessive handling can reduce a refund by actual lost value. Misuse, wear and tear and accidental damage after delivery are excluded from the retailer’s refund promises.
The terms do not give a complete category inventory. Store signage and product/order terms may add restrictions; universal clearance, gift-return, tag/accessory/manual and sealed-box rules are not published. For DIY or garden items, B&Q’s returns policy is a useful comparison.
Made-to-order goods and the 48-hour cutoff
The Range says made-to-order goods can only be cancelled during its 48-hour processing period before production, then become non-returnable. The legal exception concerns genuinely custom-made goods: a “made-to-order” label alone does not establish that statutory cancellation rights disappear. Ask what makes your item customised. Faulty-goods rights remain a separate issue.
Faulty, Damaged or Missing Items from The Range
Report damaged or incomplete deliveries immediately, giving the order number, issue details and a photo to Customer Care or Contact Seller. The generic returns help offers free faulty/transit-damage returns within 14 days.
If nothing has arrived, The Range’s returns page asks you to contact Customer Care, or the seller for Marketplace orders, when goods have not arrived within 14 working days of the Dispatch Confirmation email. Contact them sooner if an agreed delivery date has already passed. This is an investigation trigger, not a return window or a limit on your rights.
The terms instead give 30 calendar days to reject in clause 6.2.4, but call that a 14-day period in 6.2.5. The pages word it differently, so report the fault straight away and get the item back within 14 days to use The Range’s free route. The Range does not say whether booking a collection within 14 days is enough, so contact Customer Care or the seller immediately and ask them to confirm that the collection date they offer qualifies. If a fault gives you a statutory right to reject, reasonable return costs stay with the trader even after that 14-day route has passed.
Your Consumer Rights Act 2015 rights
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 normally gives a 30-day short-term right to reject faulty or misdescribed goods after delivery/transfer and required trader installation are complete. Perishables can have a shorter period. These rights apply to Marketplace traders too.
After that, repair or replacement and, in qualifying cases, price reduction or final rejection remain available. The first-six-month proof rule is separate from return windows, not a six-month refund promise. Sale goods retain the same statutory rights.
For valid rejection, the trader pays reasonable return costs, except your own cost of personally taking goods back to where you received them. Refunds are due within 14 days of agreement that you are entitled, normally to the original payment method, without a fee.
The Range Return Policy Mistakes That Cost You Money
These The Range return policy mistakes can cost you a refund or a fee:
- Waiting for day 28: help and online store-return guidance say 14 days; notify and act early.
- Choosing an address from a search result: obtain the authorised destination first.
- Sending Marketplace goods to The Range: use the seller’s route, never stores or the Returns Centre.
- Booking without a quote: the Marketplace chart leaves charging basis and intermediate weights unpublished.
- Counting refund days from posting: processing starts when goods arrive.
- Continuing heavy use after finding a fault: report promptly; consumer-caused damage and excessive handling can affect the claim or refund.
Read how StoreReturners verifies guides for the source-checking approach.
FAQ
Does Click & Collect follow online or store return rules?
The Range treats Click & Collect and in-store order-point purchases as online orders. The seven-day hold after the Ready to Collect email concerns pickup; an uncollected order is cancelled and refunded. After collection, check the seller and online return route rather than applying off-the-shelf store rules.
Can I return a faulty item after 14 days?
Yes, statutory rights can continue after The Range’s 14-day free faulty-return route. The Consumer Rights Act normally provides a 30-day short-term rejection right, followed by repair or replacement and, in qualifying cases, further remedies. Report the fault promptly and tell Customer Care or the seller that the claim concerns faulty goods.
Do I have to use The Range’s form to cancel online?
No. For an eligible statutory distance cancellation, a clear statement such as an email can exercise the right; the form is optional. Keep evidence that notice was sent within the deadline. Separately, ask the retailer or Marketplace seller for the authorised return destination before posting the goods.
Does The Range refund the original delivery charge?
For an eligible whole-order distance cancellation, standard outbound delivery must be refunded. A premium delivery upgrade only needs reimbursement up to the standard-delivery value. The Range does not clearly publish ordinary or partial-order delivery-refund treatment, so ask Customer Care or Contact Seller what your particular refund includes.
Does a loyalty or membership scheme extend the return window?
The Range does not publish a membership or loyalty return-window extension, fee waiver or tier exception in the reviewed returns guidance. Do not assume a membership changes the deadline or makes postage free. Ask Customer Care to confirm any claimed benefit in writing before relying on it.
Official sources
All sources below checked 28 October 2026. The Range does not state a policy effective date. Help pages dated 24 August 2026 show article updates, not policy effective dates.
- The Range: Refunds & Returns, FAQ and Terms & Conditions.
- Returns help: direct goods, Marketplace goods, general policy, store returns, refund timing, exchanges and collection-fee chart.
- Return actions: Customer Care, My Account, support request, Store Finder and Order & Collect information.
- UK rights: GOV.UK refunds guidance, Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013, regulation 34, Consumer Rights Act 2015 and CMA shopping guidance.