Skip to content
StoreReturners
United States policyBy Jimmy HarlanReviewed by Kimberly Reeves on October 29, 2026Policy checked against Amazon's official pages on October 28, 2026Article updated October 29, 2026

Amazon Return Policy: 30-Day Window, Exceptions, Fees and Refunds

Amazon’s US return policy gives most items sold on Amazon.com 30 days from delivery, returned in original or unused condition with the manufacturer’s packaging. New Apple products get 15 days, non-crib mattresses 90, Renewed Premium 365. Seller-shipped orders return to the seller; late returns can cost the full item price. Amazon’s policy

Key facts

  • Most items: 30 days from delivery; use Your Orders’ return-by date.
  • Drop off or complete pickup by that date. Late fees: 20% for the first 30 days late, then 100%.
  • New Apple/Boost Infinite and Haul over $3: 15 days. Haul $3 or less: Final Sale. Select categories: 90 or 365 days.
  • Transit and processing: up to 30 days, sometimes longer. After issuance: balance 2–3 hours; credit cards 3–5 business days; debit/checking up to 10 business days.
  • Seller-shipped orders return to sellers. Eligible seller purchases November 1–December 31, 2026: holiday deadline January 31, 2027; Apple January 15, 2027.

Amazon return windows at a glance — category rules and holiday seller announcement:

Item type Window Clock starts Watch out for
Most eligible items 30 days Delivery Original or unused condition
New-condition Apple and Boost Infinite 15 days Not stated; check Your Orders Not all electronics
Amazon Haul over $3 15 days Delivery $3 or less is Final Sale
Mattresses, excluding crib mattresses 90 days Not stated; check Your Orders No general 100-day window
Select Renewed Acceptable/Good/Excellent 90 days Not stated; check Your Orders Select products only
Renewed Premium 365 days Not stated; check Your Orders Premium tier specifically
Most nonperishable baby products 90 days Not stated; check Your Orders Not every baby item
Birthday/Custom Gift List gifts 90 days Not stated; check Your Orders Bought by someone other than owner
Wedding Registry gifts 180 days Not stated; check Your Orders Bought by someone other than owner
Baby Registry gifts 365 days Not stated; check Your Orders Bought by someone other than owner
Certain accidental digital purchases 7 days Not stated; check Your Orders Narrow cases below
The Drop Collection 30 days Receipt Ordinary return costs apply
Eligible seller holiday purchases Until January 31, 2027; Apple January 15 Purchase eligibility: November 1–December 31, 2026 FBA/FBM seller notice; conditions remain

Amazon’s return policy does not say how the days are counted; use the return-by date on your order rather than calculating one. Browse more US store guides for other retailers.

How Long Is the Amazon Return Window?

Most eligible items have 30 days from delivery. Amazon does not define calendar versus business days, day zero, the cutoff time or time zone, or a universal shipping grace period. Check Your Orders or the confirmation email; drop off early. Return-window rules

Amazon’s return policy lists no Prime-specific return window or benefit, so use the terms shown for your order. Weighing a membership retailer instead? See the Costco return policy guide.

This guide covers Amazon.com online orders, not purchases in physical Amazon stores. For a big-box chain with in-store return counters, see the Walmart return policy guide.

Which Amazon items have shorter or longer windows?

Amazon’s 15-day window covers new-condition Apple and Boost Infinite products only, not electronics in general. AppleCare+ cancellation follows the plan terms. If comparing Apple purchases, consult the Best Buy return policy guide. Category exceptions

Haul above $3 gets 15 days; exactly $3 is Final Sale. Amazon’s Haul articles describe requesting an eligible return within 15 days of delivery, but the policy’s general handover deadline still applies, so hand it over by the return-by date. Registry extensions require a purchaser other than the owner. Seven-day digital cases cover accidental unread Kindle books, undownloaded digital educational content, and songs or albums accidentally ordered through Alexa.

Does starting a return stop the clock?

No. Amazon requires drop-off or completed carrier pickup by the return-by date. Late fees may be 20% for the first 30 days late, then 100%; fees do not authorize late returns. Deadline and fees

Example: Assume a $100 item and Amazon applies the published late fee, with other factors unchanged. Fees are 20% × $100 = $20 in the first late period; afterward, 100% × $100 = $100, not a final refund.

For advanced refunds and replacements, the pages word the deadline differently: the general fee table uses handover, while Refunds warns of recharge if Amazon has not received the return within the window. Ship early enough to arrive within it, retain tracking and follow the instructions in Your Orders or the confirmation email. Amazon reverses recharge after receipt and processing; timely drop-off alone does not prevent it.

What Condition Must an Amazon Return Be In?

Amazon’s general full-refund requirements are original or unused condition, attached tags, intact hygiene seals and liners, and manufacturer packaging with components, accessories, manuals and authenticity documents. Condition requirements

Box-free means no outer shipping carton; keep the product box. Opened or used goods have no universal full-refund guarantee. Customer-caused damage, missing parts, removed tags or use can trigger condition fees: up to 50% of item price; Amazon Luxury: 100%.

Bundle with Savings requires the whole bundle; no partial refunds. Amazon may request government-issued photo ID or other documentation, restrict returns or charge fees for abuse. ID verification is not an ID-only return route.

Items Amazon Won’t Take Back

Exclusions appear in nonreturnable-items help and main policy. Sale pricing alone does not make an item Final Sale.

Item type Amazon’s rule What to do instead
Perishables Nonreturnable Use grocery problem route below if applicable
Hazardous/restricted-shipping products Listed exclusions Follow item-specific instructions; do not mail independently
Personalized goods Nonreturnable Contact Amazon if faulty or misdescribed
Redeemable products; gift cards Excluded; gift cards except as required by law Check listing and contact Amazon for a problem
Pharmacy products; pet medication Nonreturnable Contact Amazon for a problem
Certain digital goods Nonreturnable Check narrow seven-day exceptions above
Automobiles Nonreturnable Check purchase-specific terms
Marked Final Sale, including trading cards/collectibles Excluded Faulty/misdescribed items have a contact route
Haul $3 or less; Bulk Liquidations Store Excluded Contact Amazon if faulty or misdescribed
Removed serial/UPC; certain health/jewelry orders Listed exclusions Check listing and available support

Opened software, video games and collectibles

Amazon’s pages word opened software differently: Nonreturnable Items excludes it, while the main policy lists a restocking fee of 100% of the item price for opened, activated, used or incomplete software and video games. Amazon says a returned item generally will not be sent back to you, even if the fee leaves no refund, except certain Amazon Luxury items that incur 100% damage fees. For a change-of-mind return, expect no money back once software or a game is opened or activated; if it arrived faulty or not as described, use the resolution offered in Your Orders or contact Customer Service.

The restocking list also covers opened collectible cards, board or tabletop games and collectible or chase figurines, with a restocking fee of 100% of the item price. Listed fees do not guarantee acceptance.

What if a nonreturnable item arrives faulty?

For faulty or misdescribed nonreturnable or Final Sale goods, Amazon directs shoppers to Customer Service. That route does not guarantee a refund without return. For returnable goods, follow the damaged-item instructions.

How to Return an Amazon Order

Amazon’s process has two phases: request the return, then complete the offered handover method. Amazon’s return steps start from the order in Your Orders and do not ask for a paper receipt. Before buying, check the product page for return eligibility, which the policy points to. Use Your Orders, the Online Returns Center, and Amazon’s Return Items You Ordered instructions.

Step 1: Start the return in Your Orders

  1. Select the purchased item.
  2. Give the accurate return reason.
  3. Choose the offered refund or replacement.
  4. Select a return method and follow its instructions.

Check details. Signed-in Customer Service on the website or app offers chat or phone support after the self-service options, using the options shown for your account. Use it when the order or return option is missing.

Step 2: Drop off with a QR code or print a label

For an offered label-free, box-free method, bring the item and QR code to your selected location. Keep required manufacturer packaging and accessories; no outer shipping box or printed label is needed. Participating locations include Whole Foods Market, Kohl’s, The UPS Store, Staples and FedEx Office; the return flow shows which locations your item can use.

Print the assigned label and authorization; pack as instructed. Never combine separate orders or shipments under one label. Erase personal data from electronics; check the parcel for unintended items, because Amazon may not return or compensate for them. Match the code or label to the return. Packing instructions

Heavy, bulky and special-delivery returns

Amazon may require specialty-carrier home collection. Book early: appointments are not completed pickups. Instant Return at delivery is limited to Deluxe Delivery & Unpack/Assembly items. Size can affect fees. Special returns

Are Amazon Returns Free?

Most items include at least one free return-shipping option. Paid methods, heavy or bulky items and unusually high return rates can trigger variable shipping charges. The current policy fee table publishes no universal dollar amount. Amazon’s drop-off explainer says The UPS Store option is free unless another free option is closer to your delivery address; in a small number of cases, customers may see a $1 fee.

Fee Trigger Published amount
Return shipping Paid method, bulky/heavy item, unusually high return rate Variable; check offered method
Late No completed handover by return-by date May be 20% for first 30 days late; 100% afterward
Condition Customer-caused damage, missing parts/tags or use Up to 50%; Amazon Luxury: 100%
Restocking Listed opened/used software, games or collectibles 100% of item price

Amazon’s general bulky criteria include weight at least 50 lb, packed longest side over 59 inches, or length + 2 × (width + height) over 130 inches.

Amazon publishes no universal original-shipping refund rule for direct returns or combined-deduction formula. Restocking-fee tax applies in some states; check the order-specific amount. Refund deductions

Free returns on fashion items and The Drop

Amazon’s fashion free-return rules require a Free returns designation at purchase, domestic delivery and return, a timely return, new and unworn condition, packaging, tags and authenticity documents. Altered, resized or damaged items are excluded. Amazon or FBA supplies the prepaid label; for seller-fulfilled goods, the seller or Amazon on its behalf supplies it.

The Drop Collection allows 30 days from receipt, charges ordinary return costs, refunds return delivery fees for defective, damaged or incorrect goods, and offers no exchanges. Staples by The Drop has free eligible 30-day returns.

Returning Items From Third-Party Sellers

Seller-fulfilled items return to the seller; Amazon-shipped items use Amazon’s return flow. Sellers must offer a US return address, prepaid label, or full refund without return. An address does not promise free postage. Seller return instructions

For the clock, Amazon’s consumer policy uses delivery; Amazon’s seller guidance words it as estimated delivery. If the estimate preceded delivery, use that earlier date; Your Orders or seller instructions give the binding deadline.

Amazon advises tracking above $35, insurance and signature at $100 or more, and USPS delivery confirmation below $35. Exactly $35 is unspecified; use tracking as a precaution.

Seller oversize thresholds: more than 150 lb, length over 108 inches, or length plus girth over 165 inches. Even prepaid returns may require carrier-facility drop-off. Seller refunds usually process within two business days after receipt; original shipping is not always refunded.

When does the A-to-z Guarantee help?

The A-to-z Guarantee covers qualifying delivery or condition problems with items sold and fulfilled by third-party sellers. For returns covered by the guarantee, the return-refund matrix requires a request within 30 days of delivery, or before the holiday extension ends, and return within 14 days of starting. Dispatch versus receipt is undefined; send promptly and keep tracking. Non-delivery claims have separate timing and seller-contact conditions on the A-to-z page.

Return reason Eligible refund under the matrix
Damaged, defective or materially different Product, original shipping and return shipping
Other ordinary reasons Product only, potentially less restocking; eligible fashion exception applies

Damaged or not-as-described requests may escalate after more than 48 hours without authorization. A missing refund may qualify seven days after seller receipt, subject to other criteria; the last possible delivery date must be within 90 days. Digital items, services, stored value, Spot Buys and automobiles are excluded. Payment-provider refunds or chargebacks end A-to-z eligibility.

When Will You Get Your Amazon Refund?

Amazon return transit and processing take up to 30 days, sometimes longer. The bank’s posting clock starts at issuance, not drop-off. Refund timing

Clock Stage Published timing
1 Return window Usually 30 days from delivery; hand over by displayed date
2 Amazon transit and processing Up to 30 days; longer in some cases
2 Advanced refund, if offered Issued at first carrier scan
2 Seller processing Usually two business days after seller receipt
2 Global Store Transit up to 25 days; after fulfillment-center receipt and processing, two business days for refund processing
3 Gift Card/account balance posting 2–3 hours after issuance
3 Credit card posting 3–5 business days after issuance
3 Reward points posting Up to five business days after issuance
3 Debit, checking, EBT, cash at participating locations Up to 10 business days after issuance
3 Prepaid credit card Up to 30 days after issuance, depending on issuer
3 Promotional certificates Not refunded
3 Global Store account appearance Additional 3–5 business days

Check Your Returns or the Return/Refund Status link in the confirmation email. Contact Amazon if more than 30 days pass after returning without a refund notification. Status help

Where does an Amazon refund go?

Amazon refunds to the selected Online Returns Center method; choices vary. Selected-method help An expired or declined original card that cannot accept the refund sends it to Amazon account balance. Refund destination

Losing promotion eligibility can reduce a refund. A refund without return is discretionary under Amazon’s Conditions of Use.

Returning an Amazon Gift

Amazon’s Gift Returns Center supports items marked as gifts at purchase; sign in or create an account. Recipient refunds become Gift Card balance on the return account after receipt, never instantly. Gifts over $2,000 must refund to the purchaser’s original payment method. Gift rules

Otherwise, purchasers can choose balance or original payment. Recipients cannot exchange: refund and reorder, except unaccepted Kindle gifts.

Use a desktop browser for the recipient route. Gift-givers can email a digital receipt from Your Orders using Share Gift Receipt, even for unmarked gifts; recipients of unmarked gifts should ask for that receipt or contact Customer Service. Gift instructions

An unaccepted Kindle gift can be exchanged for Amazon.com Gift Card credit. Kindle gift exception

What if the gift has no packing slip?

Use the 17-digit order number from the packing slip or digital gift receipt. If only tracking remains, contact Amazon; with neither, the purchaser must contact Amazon. Gift recovery

Amazon publishes no ID-only or bank-card lookup alternative. After identifying the gift, check the offered resolution.

Exchanges, Replacements and Damaged Items

Amazon exchanges and replacements require an offer in Your Orders. Exchanges require credit or debit card payment, exclude promotional purchases, refund or charge price differences, and use the original shipping speed. No universal exchange service fee is published.

For damage or defects, select Return or replace items; supply details and any required photos. Replacements depend on stock and may wait until the original returns. Return the original on time to avoid paying for both. Without an offered option, refund and reorder (except unaccepted Kindle gifts).

Ask the manufacturer about warranties; used products may lack coverage. Amazon publishes no universal extra faulty-goods return period.

Damaged Amazon Fresh or Whole Foods Market orders

Request a refund in Your Orders for damaged, spilled or unusable online groceries without returning them. Follow the grocery problem instructions.

Amazon Holiday Returns 2026: Dates and Limits

Amazon’s announcement to sellers says eligible purchases from November 1 through December 31, 2026 can be returned until January 31, 2027; Apple-brand products until January 15, 2027. The extension automatically covers FBA and FBM sellers; conditions and exclusions remain.

As of October 28, 2026, Amazon’s consumer return policy showed no seasonal paragraph, and the notice does not expressly cover Amazon.com’s own retail stock. Longer registry and Renewed windows and whether “returned until” means request, handover or receipt are unresolved. Follow Your Orders and hand over before its date; advance-refund receipt cautions still apply. A-to-z links its request deadline to the extension.

Example: Assume an otherwise-eligible FBA/FBM third-party seller item bought December 10, 2026. Deadline: January 31, 2027, or January 15 for Apple.

Amazon says this repeats annually; verify future dates.

Global Store and Amazon Business Orders

The $20 postage allowance below applies only to Global Store orders, and Spot Buys have the narrowest return rights.

Amazon Global Store returns

Amazon’s Global Store rules usually provide a prepaid UPS label for US UPS drop-offs. Otherwise, pay initially and use a trackable carrier. Up to $20 postage is automatically refunded on receipt; contact Amazon about excess costs. Defective, damaged or incorrect returns receive full postage and Import Fees Deposit refunds after processing.

Its refund timeline is up to 25 days in transit, then two business days after fulfillment-center receipt and processing, plus 3–5 business days for account appearance.

Amazon Business and Spot Buys

Amazon Business terms generally apply standard returns, subject to program terms. Spot Buys allow returns and refunds only for damage, defects, description nonconformance, or delivery more than 30 days after an expressly agreed date. Third-party Spot Buys lack A-to-z coverage.

Does US Law Give You Extra Time to Return Amazon Orders?

The FTC Cooling-Off Rule adds no general three-day cancellation right to ordinary Amazon.com online purchases: the FTC excludes entirely online sales.

The FTC shipping rule concerns promised shipment, or shipment within 30 days after required order and payment information if no time was promised; it is not a return window. Keep purchase records and communications, approach the seller or site first, and report unresolved problems to the FTC.

Mistakes to Avoid With the Return Policy in Amazon Orders

  • Treating a started request as completed handover.
  • Discarding manufacturer packaging because drop-off is box-free.
  • Assuming every electronic item has either 15 or 30 days.
  • Returning an opened video game for a change of mind and expecting money back.
  • Sending a high-value seller return without tracking, insurance and signature.
  • Assuming the seller holiday extension covers every order.

Public help cannot show individual eligibility, fees or deadlines. Your Orders and the offered instructions control your return; read how we check policies for the source-based method behind this guide.

FAQ

Does the Amazon return window start when I order or when it arrives?

Amazon’s standard 30-day window starts at delivery, not ordering. Seller wording needs care: consumer guidance uses delivery, while Amazon’s seller guidance says estimated delivery. If the estimate is earlier, act from that date as a precaution and follow the return-by date in Your Orders. Window rules

Can I return an Amazon item after 30 days?

Amazon has longer category windows, including 90 days for mattresses excluding crib mattresses and 365 for Renewed Premium. A listed late fee does not grant permission to return outside your applicable window. Check Your Orders; ask the manufacturer about warranty coverage rather than assuming faulty goods get extra return time. Exceptions

Will a refund go to my card if it has expired?

Amazon says a refund goes to account balance if the original payment method cannot accept it, including an expired or declined card. Refund choices depend on the order and selection in the Online Returns Center. Check the refund destination before expecting funds in your bank account. Destination help

Does an Amazon Haul item that cost exactly $3 qualify for a return?

No. Amazon Haul’s Final Sale rule includes items priced at $3 or less, making exactly $3 nonreturnable and nonrefundable for ordinary change-of-mind returns. The 15-day window applies only above $3. For faulty or misdescribed items, contact Customer Service; Final Sale does not prevent reporting problems. Haul rules

Can Amazon restrict my returns if I return a lot?

Amazon may restrict returns or charge fees for abuse, and an unusually high return rate may trigger variable return-shipping charges. The policy publishes no numerical threshold. Check the options and charges offered for your order; do not assume a certain number of returns guarantees either free service or restriction. Return fees

Official sources