Compare stores
Returning a gift, store by store
Whether the refund goes to you or back to the person who bought it. Each line summarises the store's guide; open it for the conditions and exceptions before you act.
United States
58 stores| Store | Gift returns | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Abercrombie & Fitch Clothing | Qualifying store gift-receipt returns receive gift-card credit. | Oct 28 |
| Academy Sports + Outdoors Sporting goods | A valid gift receipt gives purchase-price merchandise credit or an even exchange; cash requires the original purchase receipt. | Oct 28 |
| Alo Yoga Activewear | Contact customer service with the purchaser's order number; eligible unused, unworn, unwashed and tagged online gifts receive store credit. | Oct 28 |
| Amazon Online marketplace | Marked gifts use the Gift Returns Center; recipients receive Gift Card balance after receipt, but gifts over $2,000 refund the purchaser’s original payment. | Oct 28 |
| American Eagle Clothing | Holiday returns accept original proof or a gift receipt; the gift-receipt refund destination is not published. | Oct 28 |
| Anthropologie Clothing and home | Mailed gifts can receive e-merchandise credit at the recipient email. Store gift returns receive merchandise credit; ask about the gift-card option. | Oct 28 |
| Aritzia Clothing | Gift-receipt outcomes are unpublished. Merchandise bought with gift cards refunds as merchandise credit onto a gift card. | Oct 28 |
| AutoZone Auto parts | Gift-receipt terms are unpublished; ask Customer Care about purchase proof. | Oct 28 |
| Barnes & Noble Books | A store gift receipt gives electronic gift-card credit within 60 days of purchase. Online gifts also receive a gift card. | Oct 28 |
| Bath & Body Works Beauty | Gift receipts get merchandise credit at the adjusted purchase price, excluding shipping/handling; website gifts return only in stores. | Oct 28 |
| Best Buy Electronics | Direct gifts returned in store give recipient credit; mailed direct gifts and Marketplace gifts credit and notify the purchaser. | Oct 28 |
| Bloomingdale's Department store | Gifts receive merchandise credit with a receipt or proof-of-purchase label; without proof, the lowest prior-180-day price applies. | Oct 28 |
| Boot Barn Boots and western wear | Gift-receipt eligibility, recipient refunds and no-receipt gift exchanges are unpublished; contact customer service first. | Oct 28 |
| Burlington Off-price | Gift-receipt handling is not published; keep the paper receipt or opt into e-receipts. | Oct 28 |
| Costco Wholesale Warehouse club | Nonmember gift returns and refund instruments are not guaranteed; contact Costco about proof before visiting. | Oct 27 |
| DICK'S Sporting Goods Sporting goods | A gift receipt supports a DICK'S gift card or even exchange. | Oct 28 |
| Dollar Tree Discount | Gift-receipt acceptance is unpublished; ask the associate before relying on a gift return. | Oct 28 |
| DSW Shoes | Gift receipts allow merchandise credit or even exchange in store; credits through dsw.com go to the buyer’s original payment. | Oct 28 |
| Edikted Clothing | Not published | Oct 28 |
| Fashion Nova Clothing | Gift-recipient recovery routes are not published; ask the purchaser for order details or contact Customer Care. | Oct 28 |
| Five Below Discount | Gift-receipt acceptance and no-proof store-credit outcomes are not published. | Oct 28 |
| Foot Locker Shoes | A specific gift-receipt or gift-recipient refund procedure is not published. | Oct 28 |
| Halara Clothing | No independent gift-recipient refund route is published; ask the buyer for order details or have them start the request. | Oct 28 |
| Harbor Freight Tools Tools | Gift-receipt treatment is not published; contact support before traveling without proof. | Oct 28 |
| Hobby Lobby Crafts | Gift-receipt treatment and recipient refund destinations are unpublished; without the original receipt, store returns use discretionary exchange or merchandise credit with valid ID. | Oct 28 |
| HOKA Running shoes | Gift-recipient refund destinations and postage are not specified; ask HOKA before mailing. | Oct 28 |
| Hollister Co. Clothing | Gift-receipt acceptance, recipient refund destinations and ID requirements are unpublished; ask the store. | Oct 28 |
| The Home Depot Home improvement | Eligible gifts can return in store for Store Credit, subject to category windows and conditions. | Oct 27 |
| IKEA Furniture | Gifts follow the ordinary policy. Duplicate registry gifts use the emailed order number; gift-receipt refund destination is not published. | Oct 28 |
| JCPenney Department store | Eligible holiday returns accept original or gift receipts through January 31, 2027; year-round gift-receipt destinations and buyer notification are not published. | Oct 28 |
| Kohl's Department store | Gift-receipt exchanges are allowed; without one, gift instructions give lowest discounted 13-week-price merchandise credit and may require photo ID. | Oct 28 |
| Lowe's Home improvement | Gift returns require the original receipt within the applicable window; separate gift-receipt treatment is not specified. | Oct 27 |
| Lululemon Activewear | Gift returns require a gift receipt or other purchase proof; refunds are e-gift cards, and gift exchanges require a store. | Oct 28 |
| Macy's Department store | Gift returns receive store credit using a registry number or gift receipt; the longer registry window requires a receipt. | Oct 28 |
| Marshalls Off-price | Gift receipts receive merchandise credit; online gift-receipt returns receive physical merchandise credit by mail or in store. | Oct 28 |
| Menards Home improvement | A gift-receipt-specific refund destination is not published. Take the item and gift receipt to the Service Desk. | Oct 28 |
| Michaels Crafts | Gift-receipt and gift-card-funded refunds use a Store Return Card. | Oct 28 |
| Micro Center Electronics | Current gift-receipt and gift-refund rules are unpublished; account-linked proof or a receipt resent by the buyer is the documented recovery route. | Oct 28 |
| Nike Sportswear | Gift recipients can bring the item and proof to a non-Clearance Nike store within 60 days of purchase or delivery for a Nike gift-card refund. | Oct 28 |
| Nordstrom Rack Department store | Eligible gifts with gift receipts return in US Rack or Nordstrom stores for a Nordstrom gift card usable online and at both brands. | Oct 28 |
| Old Navy Clothing | With gift receipt or invoice, receive a gift card for the purchase price; without either, a merchandise certificate at current selling price. | Oct 28 |
| Pacsun Clothing | A gift receipt gets merchandise credit. | Oct 28 |
| Peppermayo Clothing | Gift-receipt and gift-recipient routes are unpublished; ask the buyer for order details or contact live chat before returning. | Oct 28 |
| Princess Polly Clothing | The giver creates a gift receipt; the recipient’s emailed link offers an exchange or gift card; eligible gifts can also return in store for a gift card. | Oct 28 |
| Quince Clothing and home | Use the recipient account with a checkout gift email; otherwise contact support with order/giver details. Gift refund destination and giver notification are unpublished. | Oct 28 |
| Reformation Clothing | Gift returns receive store credit, through a store or Customer Love; the original purchaser receives an email. | Oct 28 |
| REI Outdoor gear | Use a gift receipt or gift order number. Refunds go to original payment unless the recipient requests store credit. | Oct 28 |
| REVOLVE Clothing | Contact customer service for a label; after receipt and processing, store credit goes to the email you provide. | Oct 28 |
| Ross Dress for Less Off-price | Gift-receipt treatment is not published. Ask for the original receipt; without it, eligible returns follow the picture-ID current-price credit or exchange route. | Oct 28 |
| Saks Fifth Avenue Department store | Use the gift-note order number and shipping ZIP in the Returns Form or visit a store; verify its refund destination before submitting. | Oct 28 |
| Sam's Club Warehouse club | Gift-receipt handling, recipient rights without the purchasing membership and no-receipt refund valuation are not published. | Oct 28 |
| Sephora Beauty | Take gifts to a store for exchange assistance or merchandise credit; bring packing slip, order/shipping confirmation or Gift Receipt email. | Oct 27 |
| Tractor Supply Co. Farm and rural | Take gifts to a local store; merchandise refunds go to a Tractor Supply gift card. Product restrictions still apply. | Oct 28 |
| Ulta Beauty Beauty | Eligible gift-receipt returns within 60 days of original purchase receive merchandise credit or a different product of equal or lesser value, not original-payment refunds. | Oct 28 |
| Uniqlo Clothing | Gift receipts support merchandise credit/gift card or store exchange; online gift refunds go to the sender’s card. | Oct 28 |
| Urban Outfitters Clothing | Eligible gifts returned in store receive a UO Gift Card for the price paid, with supported purchase documentation. | Oct 28 |
| Walmart Superstore | Eligible receipted gifts allow exchange, gift card or refund to sender payment. Without receipts, expect a gift card; Marketplace gifts require receipts. | Oct 28 |
| Zara Clothing | Gift receipts receive a nonexpiring Gift Card; store-bought gifts return in store, while online gifts can use a store or website. | Oct 28 |
United Kingdom
39 stores| Store | Gift returns | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Argos Catalogue retailer | Eligible gift-receipt returns within 30 days get an equal-value exchange, or an Argos gift voucher if no alternative is found; Christmas interaction is unpublished. | 28 Oct |
| ASOS Online fashion | No independent recipient route is published; ask the buyer to start with their order details. | 28 Oct |
| B&Q DIY | Gift-receipt procedures are not published. | 28 Oct |
| Bershka Clothing | Gift-receipt returns receive a credit receipt or voucher; no separate gift deadline is published. | 28 Oct |
| Boots Health and beauty | Supplier-dispatched gifts can return within 35 days of receiving the order, directly to the supplier; refunds go to original payment. | 28 Oct |
| CeX Second-hand tech | A gift-receipt procedure is not published; proof of purchase is required for store returns. | 28 Oct |
| Charles Tyrwhitt Menswear | Gift-recipient procedures without order details and gift-receipt treatment are unpublished; ask the buyer for the order number. | 28 Oct |
| Currys Electronics | Ask the buyer for purchase proof and confirm arrangements; no general gift-receipt or recipient-refund scheme is published. | 28 Oct |
| Debenhams Online department store | Gift-receipt return procedures are not published. Email customer services for help. | 28 Oct |
| Dunelm Homeware | Ask the buyer for the confirmation; gift-receipt acceptance, recipient entitlements and no-receipt credit are not published. | 28 Oct |
| Gymshark Activewear | Gift-receipt procedures and anonymous gift-recipient refunds are not published; ask support. | 28 Oct |
| H&M Clothing | Gift-receipt outcomes are not published. | 28 Oct |
| Halara Activewear | A confidential gift-recipient refund route is unpublished; ask support before arranging a gift return. | 28 Oct |
| Halfords Motoring and cycling | Gift-receipt treatment is not published; ask support. | 28 Oct |
| JD Sports Sportswear | No gift-receipt or recipient-refund process is published; online refunds go to original payment. | 28 Oct |
| John Lewis & Partners Department store | In-shop gift returns offer exchange or gift-card value; posting the gift back refunds the buyer. | 28 Oct |
| Mango Clothing | A gift-receipt procedure is unpublished; ask Customer Service before travelling. | 28 Oct |
| Marks & Spencer Department store | Gift receipts allow exchange or gift-card balance at staffed tills. Post and self-service kiosks refund the purchaser. | 27 Oct |
| Matalan Clothing and home | Gift-receipt handling is not published; do not assume a gift receipt replaces required proof. | 28 Oct |
| Mountain Warehouse Outdoor gear | Christmas store-bought gifts with gift receipts get an exchange or original-price gift card; no-proof seasonal returns use current selling price. | 28 Oct |
| New Look Clothing | Bring a valid receipt, gift receipt or order number; without proof, no refund or exchange is offered. | 28 Oct |
| Next Clothing and home | Eligible gifts can receive a refund card usable only in store. | 27 Oct |
| Nike Sportswear | Refunds normally use original payment; the person who placed the order can request a Nike gift-card refund instead. | 28 Oct |
| PrettyLittleThing Online fashion | Gift-recipient and gift-receipt lookup procedures are not published; ask customer care and have the original order details ready. | 28 Oct |
| Primark Value fashion | Gift receipts are not listed as substitutes for the original receipt in the readable pages. | 28 Oct |
| Reiss Clothing | A store gift receipt allows an eligible exchange or gift-card refund for the price paid. | 28 Oct |
| River Island Clothing | Store gifts with gift or regular receipts get gift-card refunds within 28 days; postal online gifts refund the purchaser. | 28 Oct |
| Sainsbury's Supermarket | Gift-receipt eligibility and recipient-refund destinations are unpublished; ask the purchaser for proof. | 28 Oct |
| Schuh Shoes | With a despatch note, gift recipients receive an in-store exchange or Schuh gift card; gift-box cost is excluded. | 28 Oct |
| Screwfix Trade tools | Gift-recipient refund instructions are not published; ask Screwfix how payment will be handled. | 28 Oct |
| SHEIN Online fashion | No separate gift-recipient return route is published. | 28 Oct |
| Smyths Toys Toys | Gift-receipt, recipient-exchange and recipient-refund procedures are not published. | 28 Oct |
| Specsavers Optician | Goods bought with a voucher are refunded to the gift card/eVoucher; gift-recipient refund mechanics remain unpublished. | 28 Oct |
| Sports Direct Sporting goods | Gift receipts and no-proof goodwill credit have no published entitlement. | 28 Oct |
| Tesco Supermarket | No general gift-receipt or recipient-refund procedure is published; cash or card refunds to the recipient are not promised. | 28 Oct |
| TK Maxx Off-price | Receipt or gift-receipt returns allow goods or an equal-value TK Maxx/Homesense gift card; cash refunds are not promised. | 28 Oct |
| UNIQLO Clothing | Gift receipts allow exchange; refunds require the original sales receipt and follow the original payment method. | 28 Oct |
| Urban Outfitters Clothing | Not published | 28 Oct |
| Zara Clothing | Store-bought gifts return in store for a Voucher; online gifts return in store for a Voucher Receipt or online for an emailed Voucher. | 28 Oct |
Stores whose guides don't cover this situation aren't listed. Retailers change their policies; confirm on the official page linked in each guide. Report a change